Reviews

Book Review: Hush Hush – Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush HushTitle & Author: Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Genre: YA- Fantasy, Paranormal, Angels, Fiction, Romanace

Release Date: January 1st 2009

Series: Hush Hush Saga

Publisher: Simon & Schuster BFYR

Source: Library

Description: Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

New twist on the paranormal genre

I chose Hush Hush because it’s a solid first book in a series I had honestly been meaning to finish since its final release. I tried reading this back in 2009 when I was still in High School and I remember liking the premise but being unable to finish it. After much debate on what to read next at the library I found all the books in this series and decided to give it another try.

First of all I understand this book is the first Fitzpatrick has ever written. Given that there are some pros and cons. On one hand this is a nice refreshing story (I remember thinking I had never read a book about angels before, back in 2009) and the characters are relatable given Fitzpatrick’s age at the time of writing this. I always feel like the younger the author the better their ability to convey thoughts and ideas of teenage characters. On the other hand however I found myself getting snagged on small plot points that were not fully developed and minor changes that are easily overlooked. (Nora has a laptop she uses to type up a movie review at the beginning of the book. Later on she states she only has an old IBM computer with dial up to use at home.)

Final THOUGHTS:

Patch is a jerk, angels are kind of scummy, and Main is perpetually wet. Even though this isn’t the first time I’ve read part of this book I was easily sucked into the story. I think I finished this book in about 4 days at reading a few hours a night. Nora’s personality was a little lacking and a few minor details took away from the experience but I did thoroughly enjoy the book. The idea of Angels possessing bodies is pretty creepy and I liked that dark edge. The love isn’t exactly instant but I was surprised how quickly Nora went from “You’re a creep who might kill me” to “I can only see myself with Patch and no one else.” I’ve seen this a lot in YA novels and so I can’t really call out Fitzpatrick when plenty of other authors are guilty of this.

Would I recommend this book?

Yes but with caution. Obviously this is the second time I’m reading this book (first time actually finishing it) I can’t see myself ever having a urge to go out and reread this book now that I finished it. That being said I am still eager to start the next book in the series to see what adventures are in store for Nora and Patch. I’m also watching to see how Fitzpatrick grows as a writer. I can’t judge too harshly when I know someone who has no formal background in writing took a risk like publishing a book and made it. It takes guts and I applaud her.

Goodreads | Amazon | Becca Fitzpatrick’s Website

