Reviews

Book Review: Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

FangirlTitle & Author: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Genre: YA- Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Love

Release Date: September 10th 2013

Series: Standalone

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Source: Bought

Description: Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Fangirls unite!

Everything about this book is amazing. It’s fluffy, emotional, witty, and touches base with all the things a socially awkward college freshman thinks. Or at least, that I thought when I was a socially awkward college freshman. If you’ve ever been a fangirl or know of fandom’s this book wraps the two so well into the underlining story you’ll feel at home. I’ll admit, I was a fangirl. I’m pretty sure I still am on some molecular level. That kinda stuff sticks with you. I wrote fanfiction, I obsessed over books and midnight releases (*cough* Harry Potter *cough*) and spent a lot of time generally just thinking about worlds within books to escape real life. I still do the last one a lot. Who doesn’t?

The fandom that Cath is apart of is based around a series called Simon Snow which has eight books in total. It’s similar to Harry Potter with wizards, a magical school and a boy who is propelled above the rest (Simon Snow obviously.) Ironically enough Harry Potter exists in Cath’s real world. (It’s mentioned a few times.) Cath and her twin sister Wren grow up obsessing over Simon Snow and writing fanfiction about Simon and Baz the sexy rival who Cath turns into a love interest. The best kind of fanfiction in my opinion. Each chapter has a break where Rowell writes either a segment of a Simon Snow chapter or something Cath writes on Fanfixx (a parallel of real life Fanfiction.net) These are super cute and at the end of the book I was excited to hear Rowell is doing an actual Simon Snow book. Honestly though they are not necessary and at times I passed them (and went back to read them later) because the story is just SO GOOD I needed to know what happened next.

The Issues

Cath struggles with an undiagnosed anxiety problem which limits her social interaction tremendously. Example: No one ever shows her the cafeteria at the beginning of the year so she eats protein bars in her room for weeks instead of asking anyone for help or directions. She’s pretty sure her roommate hates her. She has only had one boyfriend- if you can even call him that, and just plain doesn’t understand the opposite sex. Despite how well her fanfiction writing skills are. Oh yea, and her father is just like her. Only worse and she feels like it’s her job as well as Wren’s to take care of him.

The book had me teetering on the verge of tears or laughter. There really wasn’t any middle ground. I loved everything about this book. Except the fact that it ended. Seriously. I need like 500 more pages of this book. Levi and Cath are not only my new favorite fictional couple but I am tempted to write fanfiction of them because I don’t want it to end. I don’t really want to get into the story too much because- duh spoilers but there IS a love theme along with with rest of the plot.Best part? It’s not insta love. When it finally happened I had this weird feeling like I was a proud mother watching my child walk for the first time.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This was my first Rainbow Rowell book and it definitely won’t be my last. I’m pretty ticked it had to end because this story is THAT GOOD OMG. I’m tempted to make Levi x Cath tee’s. Also OK, the cover is illustrated by Noelle Stevenson.  Which means I heard about this book way back when she was talking about doing art for a “upcoming book” and I was like IDK WHAT IT’S ABOUT BUT IMMA BUY DAT. And I totally did ok, but mostly because the synopsis just sounded amazing and let me tell you, it is. But, I digress. Overall this book is heartfelt, funny, sad and generally amazing. Expect me to reread this as soon as I finish my monthly TBR because I need it back in my life.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes yes yes omg yes. I don’t even know why I put off reading this book for so long. I bought it back in January and am KICKING myself for finishing it now.

Goodreads | Amazon | Rainbow Rowell’s Website

One thought on “Book Review: Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Comments are closed.