Reviews

Book Review: Dearest Clementine – Lex Martin

Dearest ClementineTitle & Author: Dearest Clemetine by Lex Martin

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Release Date: May 25th 2014

Series: Dearest #1

Publisher: Self Published, Amazon

Source: Bought

Description: Twenty-year-old Clementine Avery doesn’t mind being called bitchy and closed off. It’s safe, and after being burned by her high school sweetheart and stalked by a professor her freshman year of college, safe sounds pretty damn good.

Her number one rule for survival? No dating. That is until she accidentally signs up for a romance writing class and needs material for her latest assignment. Sexy RA Gavin Murphy is more than happy to play the part of book boyfriend to help Clem find some inspiration, even if that means making out…in the name of research, of course.

As Gavin and Clem grow closer, they get entangled in the mystery surrounding a missing Boston University student, and Clem unwittingly becomes a possible target. Gavin tries to show Clem she can handle falling in love again, but she knows she has to be careful because her heart’s at stake…and maybe even her life.

I really enjoyed this book. I’m starting to branch out into “New Adult” because well…I’m a new adult. Also because normal romance books tend to be about cowboys or other types of rugged men who are shirtless and saving damsels in distress. Needless to say, not really for me. Looking for a good romance fix I saw Dearest Clementine on sale and decided to give it a shot. Three pages in I was hooked.

who names their child after an orange?

Clem has some serious anxiety issues. She puts on a brace face (read “Bitch face”) to stave off those who could hurt her. She’s been wronged, stalked, cheated on, abused, and neglected. She’s sarcastic, witty, and a writer. Clearly a girl after my own heart. Her low self esteem can at times be extremely frustrating. Also, her use of therapy and anxiety pills seem to be a bit off to me. I’ve been on anxiety medication, it didn’t turn me into a walking zombie after one pill. (Maybe I didn’t have the right kind?) Either way it was minor and just seemed like a tiny detail that only I would notice.

Also, Jason Wheeler? The whole time I was reading this book I was like “this teacher is creepy…something is going to happen.” Totally called it. Although the whole super-crazy-stalking-teacher thing seemed to be downplayed a lot in the fist half of the book. Which through me because it seemed to kinds take over the last half of the book.

And now Gavin. Mmmm Gavin. Ok he’s pretty much everything you would ever want in a sexy RA. College never looked so good with the idea of Gavin Murphy babysitting little freshmen is still lingering in my mind.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Overall it was a nice steady read I had trouble putting down. I wish I could have read how the meeting with Clem and her father went but that’s not gonna happen. I would recommend this book but I don’t think I’ll reread it anytime soon. It had me giggling and at times cursing Clem and her crippling self esteem issues.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes. It was a fun light read. It had the romance I was craving but still enough side plot to make me think I wasn’t just reading this for the hot RA action. As a reminder this is a New Adult book, there is some naughty bits that although are not Fifty Shades quality, would still make your grandmother blush if she read them.

Goodreads | Amazon | Lex Martin’s Website

