Reviews

Book Review: The Gatekeeper’s Sons – Eva Pohler

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00023]Title & Author: The Gatekeeper’s Son by Eva Pohler

Genre: YA- Fantasy, Paranormal, Mythology, Romanace

Release Date: August 13th 2012

Series: The Gatekeeper’s Saga

Publisher: Green Press/Eva Pohler

Source: Bought

Description: Fifteen-year-old Therese watches her parents die. While in a coma, she meets the twin sons of Hades—Hypnos, the god of sleep, and Thanatos, the god of death. She thinks she’s manipulating a dream, not kissing the god of death and totally rocking his world.

Than makes a deal with Hades and goes as a mortal to the Upperworld to try and win Therese’s heart, but not all the gods are happy. Some give her gifts. Others try to kill her.

The deal requires Therese to avenge the death of her parents. With the help of Than’s fierce and exotic sisters, the Furies, she finds herself in an arena face to face with the murderer, and only one will survive.

Mythology let down

I want to start off this review by reminding everyone this is my own personal opinion and bad reviews are going to happen from time to time. Sometimes its the writing, sometimes it’s the reader whose in a funk. I have very particular tastes and I want this blog to help readers like myself who don’t have a lot of free time find a good book. So if something doesn’t cut it I’m going to be honest.

Confusingly the start of this book isn’t so bad. The whole “back flipping in the air to know if it’s a dream every time something happens” got old really fast in my opinion. The character descriptions sounded nice, the boys given (obvious) god like traits of perfect features but I chalked it up to well them being gods. Theresa was given average features to appeal to readers but I did really enjoy her red hair. I have a soft spot for red heads (obviously because I am one.) That being said, I’m happy I didn’t spend any money on this book. What got me though was the writing style. It was obviously narrated by Theresa but it felt robotic and lacking emotion. I was disconnected the whole time. And very, very confused. She flips through scenes in “dreams” and reality but there isn’t any clear cut line and she mentions things that have no relevance to the story. At one point I was yelling “WHY ARE YOU CUTTING A TREE BRANCH CRYING????”

I’m grasping at straws here and don’t want to drag this on too long. The idea was really good but the thought of a 15 year old becoming the bride of Death seemed really creepy to me. Thanatos is thousands and thousands of years old even if he only looks 17 or 18. Theresa is just 15 and has in her own words, not even blossomed into a full fledged women yet. Whenever I read mythology style books I also always wonder what happens to the people who believe in Christian god(s)? Theresa talked about how she would pray to Poseidon when she swam and I couldn’t help but be skeptical.  Do other religions not exist in this reality? What modern day 15 year old prays to a Greek god? But I digress.

I understand a lot of writers fall into this inevitable trap of creating that character. Theresa is a Mary Sue. She is a great swimmer, she has amazing friends, is kind and gentle to all living things, all the boys love her, yada yada. I couldn’t think of a single relatable fault. BUT this does happen. I’ve read tons of popular books (example: Twilight) where the main character is a Mary Sue but they were still well received. The romantic interested seems very rushed in the story, it started out at a good pace and then all of a sudden Theresa had these conflicting thoughts of becoming the Queen of Death. If you read this at a slow pace I can understand how this at first skepticism turns into a willing fight to the death for the chance to be a God but I powered through this pretty quickly and this whole time frame is only a few weeks.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I read this a few weeks back and was livid. I literally had to start a new book before I could even think about writing a review. I get like this when I get sucked in and get let down. This isn’t the first book to do this to me (Crescendo which I put down after the first three chapters.) I was hoping the writing style/quality was just what I didn’t like and figured I needed to mull it over. I liked the initial idea but the Mary Sue quality of Theresa really turned me off to the whole thing. Thanatos’ crazy good looks couldn’t save this book.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

No. I really hate giving bad reviews but this was honestly a waste of my time. Multiple times I thought about giving up and moving on but I stuck with it in the hopes the end would be good or at least give closure. NOPE. I am disappoint. If you want to give it a shot, let me know what think. I’ve become pretty picky about self published books so it might just be me.

Goodreads | Amazon | Eva Pohler’s Website

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Gatekeeper’s Sons – Eva Pohler

    1. Please keep in mind this is in no way going to stop me from trying anything else you write. I understand this was one of your earlier works and I would love to see how you progress. 🙂 Thank YOU for writing books. It takes a lot of talent and guts to not only write a book but finish it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It happens. I have very picky tastes with self published titles but I did enjoy many aspects of the book as a whole. I’ll definitely be checking out some of her more recent works to see how they fair. Also, thank you very much for taking the time to check out my blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.