Reviews

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and RosesTitle & Author: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: YA- Fantasy, Romance, New Adult

Release Date: May 5th 2015

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children

Source: Bought

Description: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

More like a court of feels and ugly sobbing

I literally just finished this book and all I can think, feel, speak is one simple word- WOW. I am at my wits end here, this book has wrecked me. From the very moment I read the first page I was hooked. I lived and breathe A Court of Thorns and Roses. Coworkers never saw me without this book since Monday, my boyfriend could hardly capture my attention if I was reading since Sunday and now I’m left with this empty hollowness until the next book comes out. Never had I been as captivated by world building as I have with Maas. This is the first book I’ve read by her and I’m in dire need to run out and buy her Throne of Glass series ASAP.

I’ve heard people call this a Beauty and the Beast retelling but to me it just felt so different, so new. I mean come on, fae? That’s not beastly at all, besides the fact that Tamlin does lovetrianglesofdoomoccasionally turn into a beast but that’s his choice. The world, characters, language was all amazing. Best yet is there really isn’t any sort of weird potential love triangle (until near the end…sorta? But not really.) and I loved it. Lately a lot of YA/NA have been all about love triangles so much so that I made myself a reminder. (See picture to left.) My hatred of unnecessary love triangles runs deep people.

For Feyre (pronounced Fay-ruh) life has been one brutal challenge after another. She is the sole provider for her family and yet the youngest. Her two older sisters come off completely spoiled and for lack of better word- bitches. By the end of the book though I was feeling pretty good about the terrible two, as I called them. Her father is pretty much useless and I cataloged him as an emotional dead beat almost instantly, sadly that did not change after the book. While the three sit around the fire and use every bit of money their younger sister can scrounge up Feyre is out hunting dinner lest they starve, which is exactly how she ended up killing that wolf.

Boy am I glad she killed that wolf, Tamlin is hot. It seemed kinda cheesy at first when I had to constantly picture him with a masquerade mask on but after awhile it became apart of him. Everything about Feyre/Tamlin I love. Love. LOVE. If I hadn’t finished the book while on break at work I would have probably had an existential crisis on whether to cry from longing or joy. I pride myself on not giving away spoilers during my reviews so all I’m going to say is Read. This. Book. You will not be disappointed. I didn’t feel any lull in the story besides the obvious boredom she faced when confined to Tamlin’s land. Even then the way Maas has written this story it felt like a quick journal entry the way Feyre cataloged her days to colors, sights, and sounds. This was also strange to catagorize for me since Feyre is technically 19 in the book but some aspects felt very New Adult (hint: some seriously steamy scenes.)

Final THOUGHTS:

Is it possible to fall in love with a book? Yes?! Good because I just did. Here goes another story that will be placed high on my To Be Re-Read pile because I can’t stop loving it. I gushed so much that I convinced two of my coworkers they had to read this book. I really don’t like to be that blogger when I say you need to read this book, but you do. You really need to read this book. And then come and talk to me about it because I’m dying and there isn’t anyone around me whose read it yet.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Are you kidding me? I’ve already recommended this book to anyone within a three foot radius of me since I’ve started reading it. Two of my coworkers have promised to read it so I can actually talk to someone about it. Yes! READ THIS BOOK!

Goodreads | Amazon | Sarah J. Maas’ Website

One thought on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

Comments are closed.