Reviews

Book Review: The Distance Between Us- Kasie West

The Distance Between UsTitle & Author: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Genre: YA- Romance, Contemporary

Release Date: July 2nd 2013

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Harper Teen

Source: Bought

Description: Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

High class meets dirt poor sass

Caymen is a girl who doesn’t know what she wants out of life. She doesn’t even know what her type of guy would be let alone what style she would wear. She’s content to just follow the flow of her best friend and pretend like her life isn’t wasting away inside a money sucking doll shop. She’s come to terms with taking a few years off schooling to help her mother, like she ever had the choice. Worst of all, she’s happy she’s not in love. Sarcasm is her second language and she’s happy to use it on any rich victim within her vicinity. Or anyone really. It’s like a facet she can’t turn off. What do all these points have in common? They make for one badass character and funny books.

Caymen (No not named after the islands, although its never really explained what she is named after) is a huge sarcastic dork and I love it. This book was a quick read for me which was perfect because I wanted something light and funny between lengthy reads. WHY her mother decided that running a creepy doll store would be the perfect job and place to raise a daughter is beyond me. That just screams night terrors. Some of those dolls are bound to be clown dolls. *Shudders* Anyway, her mother seems to be really down on her luck lately and the tension between her and the shops finances really get in the way of mother/daughter bonding that Caymen is used to. Before she really has time to explore what could be wrong with the shop in walks Xander. All rich and handsome just begging to be loved, er, adored….uhm…liked? Xander is hot, like beyond Caymen’s dreams hot. You get my point.

Social class is obviously a real issue here and the fact that Xander practically sweats money turns Caymen off, for awhile at least. She’s pulled to him and his wacky “Career Days” that leave Caymen feeling both giddy and guilty at the same time. Surely he can’t like her, those couldn’t possibly be real draws in disguise could they? All these answers scream at you in the book and even though I liked this book I didn’t love it for this reason. Caymen is inexperienced with love I get that but her blatant disregard to Xander’s feelings at times really wore on me. He’s obviously trying SO HARD to win you women. Come on!

The plot twist toward the end though blew my mind! Not in the literal sense thank goodness but it did seriously take me by surprise. I ended up reading late into the night to finish the because I was hooked so well. Like….what the heck Kasie West. What the heck. On a side note some things seemed unfinished at the end and I was left with a lot of questions. Since it was a quick joy read I ignored said questions and just went with it. Happy? Ending? I think?

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This was so cute! I enjoyed this book a lot. I was in a slump between books and needed something quick and fun and Kassie West delivered. Doll shop ranks high in nightmarish places I never want to live but other then that I liked the book.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes! If you’re looking for a light fluffy contemporary read this is it.

Goodreads | Amazon | Kasie West’s Website

