Reviews

Book Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea – April Genevieve Tucholke

Between the Devin and the deep blue seaTitle & Author: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Genre: YA- Fantasy, Paranormal, Horror, Romance, Gothic

Release Date: August 15th 2013

Series: Between

Publisher: Dial

Source: Bought

Description: You stop fearing the devil when you’re holding his hand…

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White’s sleepy, seaside town… until River West comes along. River rents the guest house behind Violet’s crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard.

Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more?

Violet’s grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery… who makes you want to kiss back.

Violet’s already so knee-deep in love, she can’t see straight. And that’s just how River likes it.

HORROR WITH A TOUCH OF MADNESS

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea starts out with an amazingly crafted world. Add a pinch of horror, dash of creepy cemetery children, and a crazy brother with the most ungodly red hair and you got yourself an amazing book. Violet is one of the few characters I had a hard time imagining based on her looks alone. Her description is good, don’t get me wrong but her personality is the real winner. She has this amazing timeless quality- the whole story does really, but the way she wears her grandmother’s vintage close with ease and sips espresso on her tip toes had me head over heels.

The whole story felt crafted in some far off exotic little town set in the early 1900’s. The Sunflower Co-op which is the towns only store sells organic food, the only restaurant in town is a family owned pizzeria with an attached authentic Italian cafe. Where can I buy a bus ticket to Echo because I would have thought it heaven. Did I even mention the black and white movies in the park?

The characters are interesting and I loved the obvious bias Violet uses to describe people as if we are listening to her sarcastic and bored mental commentary instead of a typical book narration. River is definetly a guy I could get behind. His “new-old car” and vintage style made for some interesting imagery and in moments I crafted this amazing well traveled young man in my head and was hooked all over again. I read this book in a little over 24 hours. I brought it with me everywhere. (If that gives any indication as to how much I liked it.) I also loved the difference between Violet and her twin brother Luke. Obviously twins tend to be drastically different in terms of personality but I loved how Violet thrived so well on her own while Luke seemed to struggle and crave other male companions from his lack of a father figure. Sunshine left something to desired as she seemed very flat but by the end of the book I could see they way she grew as a character and enjoyed it.

I don’t want to get into the second half of the book too much because {spoilers!} but the first half where River uses the spark was very interesting to say the least. The way he crafted these nightmarish images with horror story quality details like fuzzy teeth I was both intrigued and disgusted at the same time.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This was my first actual “horror/Gothic” novel I’ve read besides well….maybe Stephen King? Although he isn’t really considered Gothic is he? You know what I mean though. The whole story had this amazing timeless feel (I know, I know but it the perfect way to describe it) and just enough lurking darkness to keep you on edge. When crap really goes down the details are just graphic enough to make me cringe.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes! I loved the dreamy quality of this book/writing style. I am eager to see what else April comes out with. You can bet I’ll be picking up a copy of Between the Spark and the Burn very soon.

Goodreads | Amazon | April Genevieve Tuchol’s Website

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea – April Genevieve Tucholke

Comments are closed.