Reviews

Mini Review: The Selection – Kiera Cass

Mini Reviews are for books I read recently but enough time has past to not remember key details of the story. These will be short and give a general feel of the book in terms of recommendation. The Selection

Title & Author: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Genre: YA- Romance, Fantasy, Fiction, Dystopia

Release Date: April 24th 2012

Series: The Selection Series

Publisher: HarperTeen

Source: Bought

Description: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks. Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

GENERAL THOUGHTS:

This book is by far the best in the series in my opinion. Not including Heir since I have yet to read it. So much happens and I just love America’s personality in the book. The whole caste system is a bit confusing but it eventually gets explained as you read on. The challenge in this series is keeping a good pace, which this book does perfectly. Although trying to keep tabs on all the different girls and whose who and who looks like what was a hassle, I immensely loved the vastly different personalities for all the girls. The Price is also deliciously handsome and makes for some great brain candy. It seems silly to try and picture him in tuxedos or suites for the most part but you eventually get used to it.

Another thing I noticed was how this was obviously set in the future when I pictured it being “dystopian” I couldn’t wrap my brain around the idea that they still had airplanes, electricity, tv, pop idols and so on. I mean obviously only their country was set back by the rebellion so there is still technological advances but it just seemed odd. I liked the setting and story don’t get me wrong but when I think of dystopian I think well…like post apocalyptic. This seems very futuristic like the Uglies series which is another I loved. Its my own fault going into this picturing a vastly different scenario but eventually I grew to grasp it.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes.  This series is definitely a guilty pleasure for me.

Goodreads | Amazon | Kiera Cass’ Website

