Reviews

BOOK REVIEW: THRONE OF GLASS – SARAH J. MAAS

Throne of GlassTitle & Author: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: YA- High Fantasy, Historical, Romance

Release Date: May 7th 2013

Series: Throne of Glass #1

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Source: Bought

Description: In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

THE WORLDS BEST ASSASSIN- A GIRL

I AM HOOKED! Holy cow this was a great read! I was pretty skeptical since I started with A Court of Thorns and Roses as my first Maas book and wasn’t sure how well I would like this series. I don’t even know what I held of reading this for so long. Celaena is one of my favorite characters (maybe behind Fayre) she kicks ass, is just socially inept to be cute, is vulnerable and strong on different occasions and has two hunky beefcakes eating out the of the palm of her hand.

I know I preach about the “Love Triangle of Doom” and yes this does have a small love triangle. Given its the first book I was happy the two opposing men weren’t all over her Twilight style and it was very minimal like ACOTAR. I’ll even go as far as saying I didn’t necessarily view it as a love triangle since Celaena only had eyes for one man while the other just sorta pinned on the side. If that changes in the next book, I have yet to see.

The world building in this story is phenomenal, I haven’t read a great high fantasy book since LOTR. This in my opinion is right up there in terms of background, cultures, people, maps and so on. MAPS! The book came with a map so you know its going to be badass. Yes that is how I judge my books.

Without giving too much away I want to say that although the king banned magic that hasn’t kept some seriously nasty beasties out of the world. Or people to summon said beasties. The romance in the book was slow building which I love and by the time lips met I was practically begging for it. This first book has definitely set the stage for some much anticipated action and adventure. And possible rebellion?

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Words cannot express my love for this book. I am so eager to gobble up the rest of the series and need to pace myself. Maas is quickly becoming one of my all time favorite authors and with good reason! Her world building and characters are so enjoyable and heartbreaking I found myself falling in love with the book over and over again.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes! It’s been a long time since I’ve read a high fantasy book. Maas has undoubtedly brought this genre back into my favorites list.

Goodreads | Amazon | Sarah J. Maas’ Website

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: THRONE OF GLASS – SARAH J. MAAS

Comments are closed.