Reviews

Book Review: Beautiful Disaster – Jamie McGuire

Beautiful DisasterTitle & Author: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Genre: New Adult- Romance, Contemporary

Release Date: March 1st 2008

Series: Beautiful Series

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Source: Scribd

Description: The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

BEAUTIFUL DISASTER: NOT FOR EVERYONE

I’m just going to start this off by saying I was not expecting to like this. On any sort of level. Most of that could be attributed to the reviews I had previously read or the fact that someone let the words “abusive relationship” slip and I instantly thought of Fifty Shades of Gray. This is by no means anything like Fifty Shades, thank goodness. It is still, in my opinion a very unhealthy relationship. Nothing from what I remember was physically abusive but it was very manipulative and mentally abusive on both sides. This type of behavior is not something I agree with or would ever take part in but from a literary stand point it was enjoyable on some levels.

The story itself is pretty interesting. I enjoyed Abby’s character even though he “mysterious past” was sort of bland and a bit confusing. Her attitude is exactly how I would have treated Travis, ignoring him and flat out telling him she wasn’t interested. Because let’s face it, the thought of being with a man whore isn’t very appealing. We don’t learn anything about Travis for quite awhile besides his love of booze, women, riding his motorcycle and fighting. His character seemed very flat through the first part of the book and then suddenly I got a slap to the face of all these emotions and I didn’t know what to think. He was this big strong rock and then to see him begging and crying was sending off warning bells inside my head. He flips from violent to sad with a drop of a hat.

UHM….Hello??? Abby that boy is clearly from crazytown. Population: Travis.

Regardless of his erratic behavior I still enjoyed the relationship because let’s face it, Abby knows it’s bad (which is nice to see someone accepting the fact that they are walking back to a crazy relationship) but she is irrevocably in love with him and apparently cannot- will not live without him. Yet she tried to, multiple times. This whole book was one big yo-yo of “I LOVE him! But this is wrong I’m [or he is] bad for me and this can’t go on!” I got whiplash from this rollercoaster of emotion and confusion. Apparently I’m a glutton for punishment because I couldn’t put the book down.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Overall I think it’s an OK if not good read. Definitely not something I would be running out to own or possibly reading again but I enjoyed it while it lasted. I’ll say the same thing I say to anyone who enjoys the Fifty Shades books: It’s all fine and good to enjoy the books but please keep a level head and accept that these relationships are not realistically healthy, no matter how steamy they are.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

I wouldn’t recommend this book to everyone. Mostly to those that like crazy drama relationships or the Fifty Shade series. No it isn’t a BDSM book, but it’s still manipulative.

Goodreads | Amazon | Jamie McGuire’s Website

