Reviews

Book Review: Hello, I Love You – Katie M. Stout

Hello I love youTitle & Author: Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout

Genre: YA- Romance, Contemporary

Release Date: June 9th 2015

Series: Standalone(?)

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Source: Bought

Description: Grace Wilde is running—from the multi-million dollar mansion her record producer father bought, the famous older brother who’s topped the country music charts five years in a row, and the mother who blames her for her brother’s breakdown. Grace escapes to the farthest place from home she can think of, a boarding school in Korea, hoping for a fresh start.

She wants nothing to do with music, but when her roommate Sophie’s twin brother Jason turns out to be the newest Korean pop music superstar, Grace is thrust back into the world of fame. She can’t stand Jason, whose celebrity status is only outmatched by his oversized ego, but they form a tenuous alliance for the sake of her friendship with Sophie. As the months go by and Grace adjusts to her new life in Korea, even she can’t deny the sparks flying between her and the KPOP idol.

Soon, Grace realizes that her feelings for Jason threaten her promise to herself that she’ll leave behind the music industry that destroyed her family. But can Grace ignore her attraction to Jason and her undeniable pull of the music she was born to write? Sweet, fun, and romantic, this young adult novel explores what it means to experience first love and discover who you really are in the process.

KPOP, IDOLS, SOUTHERN DRAWLS- OH MY!

I have never ever liked country music but Grace somehow became one of my favorite broken heroines. All through this book she writes letters to her brother and you get this basic understanding that something went terribly wrong. I guessed the issue right off the bat but it did not take away from the enjoyment and closure at the end. I went into this thinking she would like Korea or kpop/other Korean things which was why she chose South Korea to get away. I was wrong. Grace picked South Korea because it was the first link to show up when she googled “International Boarding Schools.” That didn’t really bother me but her lack of cultural understanding did.

As the story progresses we get to see her change and accept the world around her and settle into the Korean swing of things. If you’ve ever watched a Korean Drama (kdrama for short) you’ll understand when I say this book is structured like one. There is a slow easiness about the whole thing that kept me reading. Grace is the typical main character who falls for the brooding bad boy that wants nothing to do with her while a side character slowly develops feelings for her that she is completely unaware of. (Spoiler she doesn’t pick the side character- obviously.) Although this seemed like a retelling of a dozen kdramas I still really enjoyed it. Maybe it was because Grace was a foriegner and thus a forbidden romance quality was there or maybe the side characters really won it over. Both are possible. Either way I zipped through this book in no time at all and was actually upset that it wasn’t longer. I wanted more. MORE I TELL YA.

The ending was very up in the air. Not in a bad way, there was obvious closure but I just really want more Grace in Korea adventure. I’m not sure if there will be another book, goodness I hope so. We’ll just have to keep our fingers crossed.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This book kind of threw me for a loop. I was picturing loads of Kpop Idols, singing, parties and such. I was pretty much expecting a Kpop/Kdrama fangirls dream. Although it was a really nice read I wouldn’t say it fulfilled my Kpop needs but it did read like a Kdrama which I really enjoyed. Jason was a serious turd the first half of the book and I was really beginning to hate him until he just suddenly started warming up to Grace. Although that’s seen in plenty of dramas I was still urked but his cold shoulder nature. Grace’s understanding that he is- in fact a jerk helped.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes, I’ve recommended it to a few fellow kdrama/kpop lovers since reading it. Although its a bit slow it still reads like a kdrama and I love that about it.

Goodreads | Amazon | Katie M Stout’s Website

