Reviews

BOOK REVIEW: My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick

my life next doorTitle & Author: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Genre: Young Adult- Contemporary, Romance

Release Date: June 14th 2012

Series: My Life Next Door

Publisher: Dial

Source: Bought

Description: “One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

MEET THE GARRETTS:

The Garretts make having a large family seem extremely overwhelming and yet amazing at the same time. Eight kids, all almost three years apart. That’s insane. What’s crazier than having eight kids? An extremely political uptight mother. Samantha definitely got the short end of the stick in the parental lottery because if my mother scheduled every free minute of my summer I would try to escape next door as well.

Everything about Jase and Samantha’s relationship is so incredibly soft and adorable. Their awkward first times, truths, trials and errors are all what being a teenager is about. The secondary characters were all fleshed out and real, each with their own unique attitude and mannerisms making this one of the best written books I’ve read in long time. The only real issue I had was Nan, Samantha’s best friend. She is just a little turd. Seriously I have no idea what her problem is but I just hated her personality. Nan is literally that mean toxic best friend you don’t want to lose but it’s not healthy to be friends with.

The “unthinkable” issue that twisted this love story and sent me reeling was totally from left field. I did not see that coming at all. No spoilers but I absolutely hate Samantha’s mother now and forever will. You just can’t forgive something like that.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Although this book was wickedly long I didn’t want it to ever end. I need more Jase/Samantha in my life. I love big families in books and the Garretts were perfect. George is by far my favorite (besides Jase obviously) but the rest were equally as good/funny. They all have their own distinct personalities that I really hope Huntley Fitzpatrick writes about.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes this was an amazingly sweet book that grappled tough decisions without being depressing or filled with typical teenage angst.

Goodreads | AmazonHuntley Fitzpatrick’s Website

