Reviews

BOOK REVIEW: The Boy Most Likely To – Huntley Fitzpatrick

The Boy Most Likely ToTitle & Author: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Genre: Young Adult- Romance, Contemporary

Release Date: August 18th 2015

Series: My Life Next Door #2

Publisher: Dial Books

Source: ARC via First Reads

Description: Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

RECOVERING ALCOHOLIC FALLS IN LOVE WITH TIN MAN

Wow this book was good. Like really good. It was paced really well and made for easy quick reading. When things became too emotional Tim’s monologue quickly dissolves the tension with his sarcastic remarks. In this story we get to see Tim and Alice from a new perspective, really getting to the heart of their characters. The story picks up almost right after My Life Next Door. Tim is trying to do right and attend AA meetings, giving up all things bad and replacing it with a unyielding sugar fix. Alice is placing Miss Mom while her father is still in the hospital. With both come difficulties neither were prepared to face.

And Samantha’s mom is still the biggest heartless self centered witch I have ever seen.

And Nan is still a unstable toxic person.

And I still love the Garrett’s.

With the big mistake/problem from Tim’s past that comes back to haunt him I was pleasantly surprised to read how Tim dealt and came to terms with it. He’s really matured throughout this book especially how he deals with his family/father.

The relationship between Tim and Alice is a slow build with plenty of two steps forward, one step back momentum. I really didn’t mind and when it finally happened you get this feeling like that’s exactly how it should have been all along.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This book was witty, emotional, thoughtful and beautiful. Poor Tim always trying to do the right thing but coming off as the stupid drunk. I completely fell in love with his broken character. Alice is seen from a different light and we finally get to know the real her which allows me to relate to her easily. I have a feeling we might get another book but I’m hoping it’s about either Joel or Nan so we can see how they are dealing. Although she is my least favorite character I think if I could see from her point of view I might like her more.

WOULD I RECCOMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes I loved this book and My Life Next Door. I really wish there was more in this series because I can’t get enough of these characters!

Goodreads | AmazonHuntley Fitzpatrick’s Website

