Reviews

Monthly Subscription Service: Scribd

I signed up for the free 30 day trial of Scribd last month. I figured for those of you like myself who try to find a cheaper alternative to buying tons of books, or like the idea testing out books I decided to review the service. I’ve tried the Amazon Kindle Unlimited and it just didn’t seem to do it for me. When searching the net for something similar I sort of accidentally stumbled upon Scribd. Man am I glad I fell down that rabbit hole!

THE PROS

  • Easy to navigate website
  • Huge database of books
  • Audio Books
  • The ability to read on the site or on the go (Scribd’s app is available in the app store)

THE CONS

  • Very basic genres (I’m talking seriously basic)
  • Lacking in the newly released category
  • Some series are incomplete
  • Cross platform bugs (very minimal in my experience but still annoying)

Overall I’ve read 15 books and for $8.99/month I don’t think its a bad deal. I tried to read as many books as I could to get the full use of my free trial but I found quite a lot of other books I still want to read so I decided to stick with it and pay for a full month.

If any of you wish to sign up or give the free trial a test you can use this link: Invite Friends

Some of the books I read include:

  • The entire Ghost Bird Series
  • Throne of Glass (even though I own it, I reread it)
  • Crown of Midnight
  • The Summer I turned Pretty trilogy
  • Losing It
  • Beautiful Disaster
3 thoughts on “Monthly Subscription Service: Scribd

  1. I have been a scribd member for a while now and i personally like it and well worth my money.
    I love the audiobooks, I find it not that easy to read on a PC, so primarily use it for said audio.

    Like

    1. I like reading it online if I’m lunch at work but other then that I use the app on my kindle fire or phone. I really like it and will probably continue to pay for it until I’ve read everything that catches my eye. 🙂 I only read one audio book but I’ve liked it so far.

      Like

Comments are closed.