Reviews

Book Review: Anne & Henry – Dawn Ius

Anne and HenryTitle & Author: Ann & Henry by Dawn Ius

Genre:  Young Adult- Retelling, Contemporary, Romance

Release Date: September 1st 2015

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Source: eARC via Publisher

Description: Henry Tudor’s life has been mapped out since the day he was born: student body president, valedictorian, Harvard Law School, and a stunning political career just like his father’s. But ever since the death of his brother, the pressure for Henry to be perfect has doubled. And now he’s trapped: forbidden from pursuing a life as an artist or dating any girl who isn’t Tudor-approved.

Then Anne Boleyn crashes into his life.

Wild, brash, and outspoken, Anne is everything Henry isn’t allowed to be—or want. But soon Anne is all he can think about. His mother, his friends, and even his girlfriend warn him away, but his desire for Anne consumes him.

Henry is willing to do anything to be with her, but once they’re together, will their romance destroy them both?

HIGH SCHOOL ROYALTY MEETS HIS MATCH

From the moment I started this book till almost the end I was completely enthralled. This may sound cheesy but I’m a sucker for doomed romances. I also tend to enjoy high school settings the more I age. Ahhhhhh nostalgia. Hard to believe I graduated six years ago! The school setting in Ann & Henry is your typical gothic private school with uniforms, snotty cheerleaders and heartthrob quarterbacks. I’m pretty sure this book takes place in the northern part of California? Or maybe Washington. Ann moved “down” from Washington, her town close to Seattle.

From the moment Henry lays eyes on Ann its proverbial love at first sight. Or maybe lust at first sight given her skintight dress and ruby lips. Henry is portrayed as this haunted prices burdened by glorious purpose. (I’m looking at you Loki.) While Ann is scene as this alternative spunky girl with a motorcycle and a bad past. She’s labeled as a slut by the school, her mother and even her knew step father all because of her past which is a huge misunderstanding. I get that can be really tough to get through but the way Ann just goes with it and acts more ambitious then wonders why no one will take her seriously had me peeved. If you don’t want people thinking badly of you why would you feed the fires?

I was glad to see Henry take the high road before their relationship began and break up with his girlfriend so he wasn’t cheating. Even if the two people in that relationship didn’t care for one another it would still be wrong. Of course it wouldn’t be a true Tudor retelling without the undermining, backstabbing schemers to get Henry to view Ann as a floozy and threat. Almost in the span of a few days Henry goes from madly in love to thinking Ann only wants his money. Men, seriously. How do you’re brains even work?

Although the story played on some very basic stereotypes of high school I still really enjoyed this book. Historical retellings are a weakness of mine. Not really sure since I don’t enjoy a lot of history but whatever.

blue final thoughts

I really enjoyed this book. More so then I thought I would actually. As soon as I started reading it I couldn’t tear my eyes away. I brought this with me on a weekend trip and just about finished the whole thing in one day. We all know how the story of Ann and Henry ends, there’s no changing that but the twists and way the story was portrayed really revamped this retelling.

would i recommend this book blue

Yes, I really enjoyed this. For a bit at the end it got a little slow but that’s to be expected after a Tudor style court hearing. Everything pales in comparison to a metaphorical guillotine.

Goodreads | Amazon | Twitter

Watercolor elements from freepik.com all edits my own.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Anne & Henry – Dawn Ius

  1. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere! I wasn’t a massive fan of the cover, and the synopsis did sound a bit cheesy… but now I think I might enjoy it a bit! I like high-school settings when they’re done right, and I am a sucker for doomed romance too, so maybe I’ll pick this one up. Great review! ❤

    ~ Denise @ The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.