Blog Tour · Reviews

Blog Tour: Book Review & Giveaway – Stepping Stones by Kacey Vanderkarr

Stepping Stones - FinalTitle & Author: Stepping Stones by Kacey Vanderkarr

Genre:  Young Adult- Fiction, Romance

Release Date: August 25th 2015

Series: The Stone Series #1

Publisher: Urban Fey Press

Source: ARC

Description: Onnaleigh Moore is part of a plan—and it isn’t hers. When her brother dies in a car accident, Onna is desperate to preserve the tatters of her family. Any hope of finding normalcy vanishes when her mother runs off and her dad turns to booze to numb his pain. Onna’s grief is crippling, but the boy who showed up just when she needed him is helping her cope.

Everett’s presence is comforting, though he knows things—Onna’s name just before they met, where she lives, and sometimes he comments on thoughts she doesn’t say aloud. She pegs him for a stalker, or maybe psychic, but the truth is deadlier than she imagines. As their feelings for one another deepen, Everett confesses a horrifying secret: Onna’s brother is only the beginning of the plan, and some fates are worse than death.

REVIEW

I have never heard of Kacey Vanderkarr but she has surpassed all my expectation with this book. I love it! Lesser known publishing companies tend to scare me. I never know what I’m going to get since they tend to push the type of books bigger companies would never look at. Well I’m here to tell you that Stepping Stones is a refreshing take on the fictional YA genre.

The characters engaged well, dialog was well thought out and never lagged. The emotional rollercoaster in this book was seriously heart wrenching and I blame you Kacey Vanderkarr for my new found irrational fear of car accidents. I gobbled up this book and was left at times feeling hallow and depressed. Onna has gone through SO MUCH. It’s just not fair to the poor girl. Her mother was a dead beat I quickly wrote off but her father? Really? Right in the feels.

Hunter as a main character was the humor this book desperately deserved. She was irrational, hysterically funny, headstrong and all other amazing qualities you would expect from a best friend. She never pushed Onna into something she couldn’t handle and was the rock to ground her throughout this whole nightmare.

Everett was that creepy stalker boy you don’t want to provoke but can not say no to. All his charm and old school mannerism screamed gentlemen but then he goes and opens his mouth and comments on her personal thoughts like the perfect set up in a horror movie. My whole rational brain was agreeing with Onna on running away from him but then my extremely stupid side was all “Hey, maybe he’s not so crazy? ;)” Onna and I both fell for it.

I tend to have an issue with insta love but that’s under normal circumstances. I realize that grief can warp your perspective and when someone is there for you, you tend to latch onto them and develop a emotional connection fairly quick. So I’ll the instant attraction slide and agree that although it was only a few months for that attraction to grow it is in the realm of possible. Besides, when a fairly creepy boy promises to be there for you through all the tough times its pretty hard not to fall in love with that unyielding devotion.

Without giving away massive WTF spoilers all I can say is to seriously give this book a shot. You won’t be disappointed.

blue final thoughts

Just wow. What a unique and original idea. I was floored how quickly the story sucked me in and I enjoyed every moment! I’m having a hard time figuring out what sort of subgenre this should fall into. I would list paranormal but nothing has been really…crazy yet? I have a feeling all hell is gonna break loose in the next book though!

would i recommend this book blue

Yes! If you’re looking for something new and fresh I highly recommend this book. I’ll be keeping an eye on Kacey Vanderkarr for future works.

GIVEAWAY
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author

Kacey Vanderkarr is a young adult author. She dabbles in fantasy, romance, and sci-fi, complete with faeries, alternate realities, and the occasional plasma gun. She’s known to be annoyingly optimistic and listen to music at the highest decibel. When she’s not writing, she coaches winterguard and works as a sonographer. Kacey lives in Michigan, with her husband, son, and crazy cats. Along with her novels, Reflection Pond and Antithesis, Kacey’s short fiction can be found in Sucker Literary Vol 3, and the upcoming Spark Vol 7, Ember: A Journal of Luminous Things, and Out of the Green: Tales from Fairyland.

Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website


Blog Tour Organized by:

YA Bound Book Tours
2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Book Review & Giveaway – Stepping Stones by Kacey Vanderkarr

Comments are closed.