Reviews

BOOK REVIEW: The Heartbreakers – Ali Novak

the heartbreakersTitle & Author: The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

Genre:  Young Adult- Contemporary, Romance

Release Date: August 4th 2015

Series: The Heartbreaker Chronicles #1

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Source: Bought

Description: “When I met Oliver Perry, I had no clue he was the lead singer for The Heartbreakers. And he had no idea that I was the only girl in the world who hated his music.”

Stella will do anything for her sick sister, Cara—even stand in line for an autographed Heartbreakers CD…for four hours. She’s totally winning best birthday gift this year. At least she met a cute boy with soft brown hair and gorgeous blue eyes while getting her caffeine fix. Too bad she’ll never see him again.

Except, Stella’s life has suddenly turned into a cheesy love song. Because Starbucks Boy is Oliver Perry – lead singer for the Heartbreakers. And even after she calls his music crap, Oliver still gives Stella his phone number. And whispers quotes from her favorite Disney movie in her ear. OMG, what is her life?

But how can Stella even think about being with Oliver — dating and laughing and pulling pranks with the band — when her sister could be dying of cancer?

FALLING IN LOVE IS NEVER EASY, ECSPECIALLY WITH A HEARTBREAKER

If you are looking for a really nice easy read to take to college or to read during school I just found it! This book was so well done. Bravo to Ali Novak! She’s been making steady headway in the published field and I couldn’t be prouder. I loved her My Life with the Walter Boys book and since then its clear she has been honing her technique and getting better everyday. If you’re on Wattpad I highly recommend looking her up.

The whole idea of falling for a rock star is just about everyone’s dream. Surprise! That cute boy you fell in love with is actually super famous and talented and loves YOU! I’ve seen millions of One Direction fanfic pop up everywhere and even a few other published rocker romance style books. None of them seemed real. None until now. The way Ali Novak’s characters interact and grow left me in awe. Did Stella make a few stupid mistakes? Did she worry and fret over the complications? Yes of course! But she also progressed in a much bigger story then Stella and Oliver. She has a life, a family, a sister who she loved and cared deeply about and not once did that take to the back burner. Stella was a girl who had her priorities straight, even if she didn’t know it yet. Not only is this a story of romance but the bigger issue is finding independence and learning to let go of fears and spread your wings. Stella has always been one of the triplets, it was her defining quality. No one really new her, not even herself.

Getting to know the boys from The Heartbreakers was like getting reacquainted with old friends. The busy struggle of their lives left them constantly yearning for real interaction, so when Stella and her brother finally meet them its amazing. There is nothing better then watching friendship grow, except maybe watching romance blossom. There isn’t really much more I can say without giving a lot away so I’ll keep this review simple.

blue final thoughts

I loved the Heartbreakers! The different personalities of all the boys was so well done. All the characters possessed this unique realness about them that made me want to seek them out and be friends with them. This was a instant buy for me and I fell in love with Ali Novak’s quirky characters all over again.

would i recommend this book blue

Yes! I can not believe how quickly I’ve fallen in love with the contemporary genre. This book tops that list for 2015.

Goodreads | Amazon | Ali Novak’s Website | Ali’s Wattpad

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Heartbreakers – Ali Novak

  1. I thought that this book was amazing! I couldn’t put it down. If I did, well that’s all I was thinking about, what is going to happen next? In my opinion Ali should make another book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She’s actually working on more books on her wattpad account. I haven’t had a chance to read them but I’m looking forward to it. Glad you enjoyed her work!

      Like

Comments are closed.