Reviews

Book Review: Shattered Blue – Lauren Bird Horowitz

Shattered BlueTitle & Author: Shattered Blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz

Genre:  Young Adult- Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

Release Date: September 15th 2015

Series: The Light Trilogy #1

Publisher: Skyscape

Source: eARC via Netgalley

Description: For Noa and Callum, being together is dangerous, even deadly. From the start, sixteen-year-old Noa senses that the mysterious transfer student to her Monterey boarding school is different. Callum unnerves and intrigues her, and even as she struggles through family tragedy, she’s irresistibly drawn to him. Soon they are bound by his deepest secret: Callum is Fae, banished from another world after a loss hauntingly similar to her own.

But in Noa’s world, Callum needs a special human energy, Light, to survive; his body steals it through touch—or a kiss. And Callum’s not the only Fae on the hunt. When Callum is taken, Noa must decide: Will she sacrifice everything to save him? Even if it means learning their love may not be what she thought?

Page break

I received a Digital ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.

MAGICAL REALMS, POETIC GIRLS, DANGEROUS BOYS – MY KINDA BOOK

This review brought to you by the lovely gifs of the internet. I honestly did not mean for it to turn out like this but it explains this book too perfectly so sorry not sorry.

This books plot can be summed up in one gif:

splode

Ok but seriously toward the end everything got so complicated I had a hard time keep up with all the plot twists. SO MANY PLOT TWISTS. Not that it was a bad thing, but just dropping bombs one after another during a climax with a lot of action sure left my head reeling after I finished the book. I had to give it the rest of the weekend to figure out how I felt about the ending.

I’m going to just jump in here and say I was swept away by the beautiful way Horowitz crafted this. The poems, the tempo, the underlying current of danger and passion I could go on and on singing my praise. I seriously love well written books. Noa was this fragile little thing on the mend and got sucked into Callum’s world so fluidly I had to step back and pin point just exactly when her world crept into his and vice versa. The way this book is written you have a hard time keeping track of time/days so I’m not exactly sure how quickly they fell in love and if that should worry me.

You know I tend to berate authors who overuse the Love Triangle of Doom but I was so wrapped up in Noa’s feelings all I could think was:

both is goodAnd I’ll admit it Judah is a sexy piece of messed up Fae who needs some seriously TLC. TLC only Noa can provide. *wiggles eyebrows* Horowitz you made me ship a love triangle!? That’s a first in my book.

Going into this book blind is the best way because the twists and secrecy definitely ups the OMG factor. That ending though. Seriously. The setting of a boarding school that actually banned normal things (like candy and cell phones) which was much more realistic to boarding schools everywhere was also an added bonus.

Some things tended to loose my interest quicker then others like Ansley and her perfect Queen B reputation or the way Noa was left to build the float all by herself. Typical mean girl stuff but necessary to help ground the teen feel which I understand. Also the way her mother grieved for Noa’ sister got old once Noa lied about whose poems she was reading. My brain was instantly like “This is going to be sad. Ignore it.” Its my feels coping mechanism.

Watercolor Floral Final ThoughtsThe way Shattered Blue was written is in itself magical and enthralling. I fell head over heels for the character development and unyielding heartache. I’m so glad I got an ARC because I don’t think I would have been able to wait to next week to read this. As far as I’m aware this is Horowitz’s first novel and WOW was a debut! I’m not embarrassed to say I scooped out her poems and short stories on her website.

recommend book purple bannerYes yes yes. If you’re looking for something less High Fantasy but more poetic then general paranormal romance I highly recommend this beauty.

Goodreads | Amazon | Lauren Bird Horowitz’s Website

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Shattered Blue – Lauren Bird Horowitz

Comments are closed.