Reviews

Book Review: Forever – Maggie Stiefvater

ForeverTitle & Author: Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: YA- Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Werewolves, Fiction

Release Date: July 12th 2011

Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Source: Library

Description:

then.
When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their loved moved from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.
That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be killed in one final, spectacular hunt.

forever.
Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment–a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.

Forever in my heart

What an epic conclusion! Despite working fulltime I read this book in less than two days because it was just so good. Now that the tides have turned and Sam is left on the sidelines as a human while Grace runs free as a wolf! I was even reading this propped up on my cookbook holder while making dinner. The tangled, dysfunctional mess that is Isabel and Cole play a vital part in Isabel’s character growth in this book. Being able to watch someone mature and work through their problems is extremely satisfying. Even if Cole is essentially a mad teen scientist. Or should I just say genius? Either way I’ve grown extremely fond of Cole and his broken spirit and quick wit.

Finally being given the inside look on wolf-Grace’s view was both heartbreaking and uplifting. Sometimes at the same time, serious emotional roller-coaster folks, be warned. After longing for the change since that fateful day in the snow many years ago Grace gets her wish, but with it comes trouble in the form of new and old enemies. What I love most about Maggie’s writing is that it stays true to the world she writes. There are no plot holes or small details left unnoticed. She touched base on everything I was left wondering about at the end of Linger and then some! Grace’s disappearance puts Sam in the spotlight with local police and the general populace. He feels the burden of a secret he cannot tell. Even if Grace’s parents were complete and utter scum (my personal opinion) you are still able to view the way her Mother is trying to cope with her loss, in her own weird artistic way. Along with the small plot points Maggie makes it apparent Grace is still living in her two changes of clothes from her previous run away in the last book and its small details like those that solidify the continuation of this story. Things that happen in the first book are not forgotten or rewritten, small useless facts and trivial details help build the magic of Mercy Falls.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I absolutely love the mix of hope and despair in this series and am actually quite depressed it’s over. I’ll be picking up Sinner which is a standalone book about Cole and Isabel later this week. I expected to cry while reading this book like Linger but I was just so wrapped up in the action and fast paced nature of this read that I didn’t have time to dwell on it. (Of course now that it’s over I feel it.) The ending it sort of a “make your own conclusion to what happens next” and normally those peeve me to no end. With Forever though, it just feels right.

Would I recommend this book?

YES! Yes a thousand times over! I’ve gushed about this series to anyone who stood in my vicinity for longer than 30 seconds. I’m surprised no one has told me to shut up at work yet.

I also just realized I never posted the second book’s review- OOPS! I’ll get right on that!

Goodreads | Amazon | Maggie Stiefvater’s Website

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Forever – Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I really enjoyed this series, the pacing is a bit slow, but like all of Stiefvater’s books it’s so beautifully written. My favourite of hers is still Scorpio Races, though! Have you read that particular book?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t had a chance to read Scorpio Races but its on my Must Read TBR! I absolutely love her writing style. I’ll admit this series was a bit slow but it feels so put together I can’t complain.

      Like

Comments are closed.