Memes

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit

Top Ten Tuesday

Welp I’m a avid DNF (Do Not Finish)-er. I seriously drop books like its going out of style if they don’t hold my attention or the writing style is terrible. Good news is I haven’t DNF a lot of books this year so I’ll make a half list. The other half will be other things I wish would quit happening (aka people to stop doing or I should stop doing.)

7791997 22013978 8492856 13448095 20995607

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick – The whole plot of this just made me want to bash my head into a wall. I really enjoyed the first book though which is a shame.

Chasing Luck by Brinda Berry – Moving way to slow. Also weird interactions/pacing of dialogue. I couldn’t figure out if I liked the MC and that’s a major problem.

Whatever Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dressen – Very slow, nothing happened by the halfway mark and I just got bored. I want to try and finish this someday.

The Homecoming Masquerade by Spencer Baum- Vampire Homecoming dance stuff. Yea. Didn’t last long.

Wriathsong by Evelyn J. Squires – The idea and plot behind this book was SO unique and interesting. Unfortunately the writing fell completely flat in my book and I only made it as far as 15%.


Now for 5 things I want to quit happening or quit myself.

1. I want to stop stressing about reading ARCs. When I get them I feel like I have to drop everything to read/review it and it stresses me out since I get emails weekly about being approved/to apply for/offering to send me a book. I love all books but seriously, I’ll get to it when I get to it. No more ARCs until I finish my current reads.

2. I want authors to stop trying to reinvent their extremely popular series that have been out forever and the series has ended. I’m looking at you Stephenie Meyer and E. L. James. But J.K. Rowling can keep making new books until the cows come home. Double standard I know. Sorry not sorry.

3. I want to stop getting headaches if I read too long. Seriously its annoying when all I want to do is power read a book but my brain is all “Mmmm yea how about nope.”

4. I want the movie industry to stop making the last book/movie in a series a double feature. I understand if there is a lot going on in a series like HP and I guess Hunger Games (idk never finished the series…) but every single movie? Come on! I haven’t seen the Twilight movies but I’m told there was no need for it to be a double feature.

5. I want books to stop being so gosh darn expensive (this is a fruitless complaint I know) because I want to buy ALL THE BOOKS. Thankfully places like BookOutlet exist but still, books are super expensive nowadays.

That’s it for this Top Ten Tuesday. I could probably come up with a million things I want to stop happening or quit myself but that would defeat the purpose of only being a “ten” list so I’ll wait till next time.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit

  1. Oh man, sorry to hear that you get headaches when you read! I’ve also been getting more headaches lately compared to when I was younger but they haven’t gotten in the way of my reading. As for ARCs, I have a rule that I won’t pressure myself to read and review books if I don’t feel like doing it. Because if I blog for fun and it’s not fun anymore if I feel forced to do something. LOL but it’s less of an issue for me because as a blogger outside the US and UK, I rarely get review copies anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think my issue with headaches is partially to blame by my eyesight. I’m terribly blind and when I read I end up squinting. Even if I’m wearing glasses. I should invest in laser surgery haha. I totally agree with the arcs. I’m not stressing about it anymore. Better off that way. 🙂

      Like

  2. First love your blog design! The graphics are gorgeous. Secondly…I WHOLE HEARTEDLY agree with #2 authors need to know when to quit reinventing there popular series…and yes double standards for JK Rowlings 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I wish Rowling would make a spin off series about new kids or something. I’m dying without some HP adventures. Also, Don’t feel bad I typed this on my kindle and its fill of typos. Haha. I’ll have to fix them tomorrow.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha, can you believe I actually read the ENTIRE Hush, Hush series? And I hated them ALL. Sigh, I don’t know what I was in when I did that.

    Like

  4. I have been dropping books like a hot potato as well, I feel you on the ARC burn out!

    I also hate the whole split the last book into two thing, most YA books just don’t have enough plot for it to work effectively – the obvious account at money grab makes me side eye!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am just SO over the dual ending movies. I bet the divergent films are going to start a new trend in renaming the very last movie. Just another reason for the movie industry to keep at it. Blah!

      Like

    1. I would refuse as well if I didn’t love J Law so darn much. But I think that will be the last second part movie I see in theaters. Glad to know others hate it as well!

      Like

Comments are closed.