Memes

Beautiful Books Round 1&2: With Moon and Magic

I really enjoy reading Cait’s blog Paper Fury and this month for NaNoWriMo she and Sky changed their Beautiful People discussion posts to Beautiful Books. Since I’m participating this year I figured now would be a good time to join in the fun! I missed the first post somehow so I’m mashing the first two posts below. Be prepared, this might be long.

beautiful books

PART 1

How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

I used to roleplay a lot in High School and basically always loved werewolves. I had been toying with the idea of a story with street magic and a urban fantasy setting and I just sort of mashed them all together.

Why are you excited to write this novel?

Because its like a living thing that needs to be OUT. Basically those little face suckers from Alien that plant the egg and then the baby comes busting out of your chest? That’s how this feels. It HAS to come out.

What is your novel about, and what is the title?

With Moon and Magic Cover

With Moon and Magic is the title. Its about twin werewolves that try to solve the disappearance of other wolves and figure out who their parents were all while being shoved into society after being hidden for most of their lives. (They are both socially awkward and I love them and just want to protect my babies forever.)

Sum up your characters in one word each. (Feel free to add pictures!)

Abigail inspriation: Abigail: Resilient

Zachary Good inspiration: Adrian: Dominate

Liam: Liam: Relentless

Mads Mikkelsen - Only thing I've seen him in is Hannibal on TV and he is amazing in it!: Doyle: Alpha (inspired by Mads)

Baby faced Zachary Good: Zachary: Witch

Which character(s) do you think will be your favourite to write? Tell us about them!

I think I’ll really enjoy Zach and Abi’s story. They’re sort of drawn together because of their connection to opposite magic and make a good team. Lots of miscommunication and hurt feelings but I know they have what it takes to make it out alive.

Also, I’m really excited to write about  Adrian’s best friend (no name at this point) who is a Incubus and bisexual. He tries to get with Adrian all the time and I just love his personality.

What is your protagonist’s goal, and what stands in the way?

Abigail starts out wanting to figure out who her parents were but gets sucked into the mystery of disappearing wolves. Turns out, their both connected. I can’t name who is in the way because of spoilers but you could also list Liam as one of the people because he wants to protect Abi even if that means allowing other wolves to die.

Where is your novel set? (Show us pictures if you have them!)

It’s set in a fictional town called Promise Peak which is next to the Promise Land state park in the Pocono Mountains.

What is the most important relationship your character has?

Her trust and love for Adrian, her twin brother. She would go to the end of the world for him.

How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

Abigail becomes more open, less anxious around others. She also better understands her power and the role she must play in stopping whomever is stealing the wolves.

What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over?

I’m not really sure about themes. I’m just letting the story flow however it wants. Guess I’ll figure that out when I’m done. As how they feel I plan for a huge cliffhanger (sorry not sorry) so my readers will probably be pissed at me.

BONUS! Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month.

  • Write, a lot.
  • When you think you’re done write some more.
  • Don’t edit anything, just keep writing.

PART 2

Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

It’s sort of got a mind of its own. It keeps twisting and shaping itself the more I write.

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Abigail sat with her back against the headboard painting gold metallic nail polish onto her toes. It was the kind of color that stood out and demanded attention, unlike herself. She gave them a reassuring wiggle to fight off the numbing tingle that accompanied her prolonged obscure posture. A gentle breeze filtered into the second story room from an open bay window overlooking the high Pocono Mountains. It’s lush canopy of trees hiding pack that now ran through its trails. A howl sat on the breeze but the girl ignored it with a snort. Adrian, her twin brother, was a show off and likely caught a defenseless deer. After finishing a few more toes there was a soft knock on the door frame, given she usually kept the door open. The purple walls did little to soften the massive home but she liked to think it her own slice of paradise.

Are you a plotter or a pantser? Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

Plotter, I couldn’t ever just pull something out of thin air and write 50,000 words about it.

What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

More writing and lots of chocolate.

What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

It just needs to sounds nice and match the characters personality. I have yet to find a suitable name for the Incubus because nothing seems to suit him.

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

The end. I start off with a clear idea on how I want the story to end and from there build backwards/around it.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

I haven’t introduced Zachary yet so I really enjoy Liam’s character right now. He has a dark side to him and a weird set of morals he follows so he’s a bit of an odd one.

What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching? (What’s the weirdest thing you’ve researched?!)

My grandfather lives in the Pocono’s so that helped me a lot with setting but I researched local state parks and that’s how I found Promise Land. I could have just as easily made it up but I enjoy books with semi realistic settings readers can visit. As for weirdest thing researched I looked up Ley Lines and that has some weird stuff stemmed from it.

Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

Alone, although I do write some chapters while on break/lunch at work. I don’t ever show it until I’m at a place where things make sense for a reader. If I knew how everything worked but hadn’t yet explained it in the book it wouldn’t make sense to show it to someone.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

I write very spontaneously. Sometimes I go days without anything and then other times it just pours out of me. As of right now I can only get in a few paragraphs before stopping for more research/ideas. I write throughout the day but best at night when I’m completely alone and stress free. I don’t snack when I write unless its on hot chocolate/left over Halloween candy.

8 thoughts on “Beautiful Books Round 1&2: With Moon and Magic

  1. Oh man, is that image your mock book cover? It is amazinggggg.

    This sounds absolutely amazing. You’ve really got everything thought out. I’m forever struggling with mines.

    Like

    1. Oh thank you! I just messed around with pixlr until I got something I liked. I didn’t want to mess with InDesign or Illustrator since its just a mock up. The plot is still very much a work in progress but its coming along as I write it. I think it helps that I’ve been thinking/molding this story in my head for some time now. Are you participating in NaNoWriMo?

      Like

  2. Your book sounds awesome! And your writing advice is definitely sound. 😀 I really enjoyed reading your paragraph. 🙂 I used to write chronologically, but I got stuck so yesterday I tried to just write a random scene, and it worked, so I think your ending first habit might be really helpful. Have fun with the rest of your book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you! Yes writing out of order definitely helps get the creative juices flowing! I actually had to stop mid chapter and go ahead and write a few difference scenes from the middle of the book to help me structure where I want/need to end up in the next few chapters. It would help if I did an outline but I don’t have the patience for those haha!

      Like

Comments are closed.