Reviews

Mini Book Review: Firsts – Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Mini Reviews are for books I read recently but enough time has past to not remember key details of the story, or I felt there was not enough to talk about for a full in depth review. These will be short and give a general feel of the book in terms of recommendation.

FirstsTitle & Author: Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Genre:  Young Adult- Contemporary

Release Date: January 5th 2016

Series:  Standalone

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Source: ARC via the publisher

Description: Seventeen-year-old Mercedes Ayres has an open-door policy when it comes to her bedroom, but only if the guy fulfills a specific criteria: he has to be a virgin. Mercedes lets the boys get their awkward, fumbling first times over with, and all she asks in return is that they give their girlfriends the perfect first time- the kind Mercedes never had herself.

Keeping what goes on in her bedroom a secret has been easy- so far. Her absentee mother isn’t home nearly enough to know about Mercedes’ extracurricular activities, and her uber-religious best friend, Angela, won’t even say the word “sex” until she gets married. But Mercedes doesn’t bank on Angela’s boyfriend finding out about her services and wanting a turn- or on Zach, who likes her for who she is instead of what she can do in bed.

When Mercedes’ perfect system falls apart, she has to find a way to salvage her reputation and figure out where her heart really belongs in the process. Funny, smart, and true-to-life, FIRSTS is a one-of-a-kind young adult novel about growing up.

DNF FOR PERSONAL REASONS

First of all I’d like to state I received this in exchange for an honest review. Receiving this early and for free in no way effects my personal opinions of this book.

Honestly, I don’t have much to say about this book since I did not actually finish it. I stopped right at 60% because it was taking a turn I was not comfortable reading about. This book is extremely “out there” and I can applaud any author willing to take the plunge and write about tough or taboo topics like sex/sleeping around where a lot of YA authors preach the “good moral YA” style.

Bluntly put, this book was like watching a train wreck. You know its going to be tough and hard to read and you just keep reading anyway. When it came time for Angela’s boyfriend to essentially blackmail Mercedes into sex I just had to stop. It was just too much of everything. He was a total creep, and Zach was this amazing goody boy that would have been great for Mercedes but I knew this book was going to end badly so I just sort of bailed. I coped out. Sorry guys. I’m guilty.

I may eventually finish this but I don’t honestly know. It may be weeks/months until I’m willing to read the rest. If I could use one word to describe this book it would be gritty. I’m not even sure if that’s a good or bad thing.

blue final thoughts

Wow I had a hard time processing this book. Although I did not finish this book the first half gave me a good enough example of the type of stuff to come in this story and I ultimately stopped because I was just too uncomfortable. I recommend people who like gritty contemporary to give this a try.

would i recommend this book blue

If you enjoy coming of age books I highly recommend this. If you are someone who had strict morals or frowns upon promiscuity you might want to pass up on this book though. Although I never actually finished this book it did play on some very strong viewed topics.

GoodreadAmazon | Laurie Elizabeth Flynn’s Website

One thought on “Mini Book Review: Firsts – Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Comments are closed.