Reviews

Book Review: Half-Blood – Jennifer L. Armentrout

9680718Title & Author: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre:  Young Adult- Mythology, Fantasy, Romance

Release Date: October 18th 2011

Series: Covenant #1

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Source: Bought

Description: The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.

If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

FINALLY A KICK ASS MYTHOLOGY SERIES

Although you can tell this is one of Jennifer’s earlier works I was still amazed at the intricate detail to the inner workings of her characters worlds. Having read a rather unsatisfying mythology earlier this year I strayed away from this one for a long time. Like a really long time. I finally relented and bought the first book. Then the second. Then the third. You get what I’m hinting at, this series is addicting! A lot of people on Goodreads are quick to point out similarities to the Vampire Academy series so if you wander over there be prepared. I’ll admit I can see the resemblance in the first book since “girl runs away, sexy many comes to bring her back to a pretentious boarding school, she finds out she is special snowflake, blah blah blah forbidden romance, so much torment. Yes, well… you get the point. BUT- yes there is a but, the way she wrote the workings of mythology into her story was a huge boost in setting her apart from VA. I’ve come to terms with YA there are tons of forbidden romance special snowflake books out there, so why should I toss this one  under the bus and not at least give it at try and enjoy the differences?

First of all this book is a nice modern twist on mythology but not the overused “God falls in love with mortal” theme. More like “Not quite mortal falls in love with pure blood man, also has the power to kill gods.” This made it so much more interesting. As soon as I bought the book I was spewing questions at random: Why can’t she be with him? What makes half bloods different but better? If they are better why are they treated like crap? Plus the very important, Why can’t halfs and pures have the sexy time? The way mythology was used as a setting/backstory instead of plot device was also really refreshing. Spoiler: Gods come down and talk to them later in the series and they are super sarcastic and funny, it’s great.

I will be fair and say there was a love triangle of doom in this book. It was mostly pointless and forced but helped strengthen the bond of the two characters and give more backstory.  Another major difference was Alex doesn’t have some female gal-pal sidekick. She has a few friends but is mostly a longer and amazingly headstrong. (To the point of being annoying at times.) Watching her open up and accept help from others but also royally screw up her life at the same time was pretty damn enjoyable.

blue final thoughts

All in all the only major drawback I have is the amount of typos and wording mistakes. I don’t normally gripe about grammatical mistakes but this one was hard to get through with so many. You can tell when she was writing this she would use a word with the same first letter that wasn’t actually the right word and made no sense. Thankfully it doesn’t make you lost just a bit cumbersome to read through.

would i recommend this book blue

If you’ve ever read one of Jennifer’s books you’ll know they are wickedly addicting and fun. I’d recommend them to just about anyone.

Goodreads | Amazon | Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Website 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Half-Blood – Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Omg, I love this series too! I’m about to start the last boom and I kinda don’t want it to end. I haven’t heard of a lot of people reading this book and idk why, I think it’s pretty good. I thought I was the only one who noticed the typos because that seriously bothered me too! The love triangle shouldn’t have happened because I really like Seth and I know Alex isn’t going to end up with him. 😦 but I loved Aiden too… great review btw. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.