Reviews

Book Review: Air Awakens – Elise Kova

23127048Title & Author: Air Awakens by Elise Kova

Genre:  Young Adult- High Fantasy, Romance, Magic

Release Date: August 27th 2015

Series: Air Awakens #1

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Source: Bought

Description: A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

AirAwakens1

Another self-published book for 2015 that I absolutely adore! When I mean I adore it I mean I cannot believe I was so hesitant to read this after only reading G-R-E-A-T things about it over and over and over again. I think I had a serious case of the too good to be true sickness. Furthermore Elisa Kova is such amazingly kind person I just want to hug her. I was tweeting her about anime and it just made my day that she was so down to earth and friendly.

If you enjoy high fantasy books like Throne of Glass and the Grisha series you’ll love this new series. I just adore books that are magical, action packed, emotional and set in a deeply intricate world. Air Awakens is all of that and more. From an outsiders perspective when you read the description you might instantly think of Avatar the Last Airbender (or at least my boyfriend David did when I was describing the book to his mother.) Which I can admit sounds a bit similar but I can assure you this is an entirely different world. Unfortunately I can see how all books that have to do with the elements will always be even slightly compared to Avatar since it was so widely popular and our generation was obsessed with it, but don’t let that steer you away from good elemental books though!
Seeing as this book is fairly long and a high fantasy I’m going to break this review down into sections.

World Building

The world inside Air Awakens is highly complex and although we don’t get to view any of the other areas beside the capital during the first book you get tid-bits of information and facts about various places to keep you interested. Each part of the continent (North, South, East, and West) has a specific style and ethnicity. Place of origins are easily pointed out based on skin tone, hair color, eye color or speech patterns. At first this was confusing as all get out since Vhalla went around commenting on various ethnic origins without a lot of thought and until I finally understood the differences it was a bit overwhelming. Also, it takes a little bit to understand the role of magic in Vhalla’s world and the hostility of common blooded people versus magic born folk but once we get to see the history of both I was quickly intrigued.

Romance & Friendship

The first book has a really nice slow pace in terms of romance. I love high fantasy books because their about things other than romance. This book allows you to look at the bigger picture while still getting some seriously swoon worthy scenes. It’s also NOT an insta-love book. Can I get a amen?! Aldrik is not what you would expect given the terrible rumors we hear about him in the book. He’s super angsty and brooding which are both hot in terms of book boyfriends but I was expecting this total tyrannical monster. (Ok, so he does do something super monster/heartless after he first appears but later he tried to make amends.) Watching Aldrik and Vhalla become friends was so nice, there isn’t anything rushed or forced about it.

We also get to meet some important characters that follow Vhalla through the series. They are all super fun/adorable but I don’t want to get anything away on who they are since that happens late in the book.

Tone & Emotion

The whole tone of the book is a weird mix of foreboding and suspense with a splash of exitement. (Sounds like a recipe to a really good horror movie.) The emotion however had me all over the place. You’re happy, worried, scared, SOBBING and a whole slew of other emotions. Super emotional roller-coaster (the whole series so far honestly, but I find this a really good thing.) I like books that can evoke powerful emotions out of me. I can’t really say what happens in this book but some seriously messed up things and my heart just bleeds for Vhalla. Life needs to give this girl a break.

blue final thoughts

I seriously love this book. Definitely a reread/must buy. This completely proves that self published books can be just as good if not better than traditionally published books. The cover is amazing, the story is complex, and the author is super friendly. what more could a reader want?

would i recommend this book blue

Yes! Go- go read it now!

 

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Elise Kova’s Website

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Air Awakens – Elise Kova

Comments are closed.