Reviews

Book Review: Bookishly Ever After – Isabel Bandeira

21018154Title & Author: Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

Genre:  Young Adult- Contemporary, Romance

Release Date: January 19th 2016

Series: Ever After #1

Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary

Source: ARC via the publisher

Description: In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably a YA novel with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary. But when Phoebe finds out that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have a crush on her, she turns to her favorite books for advice. Phoebe overhauls her personality to become as awesome as her favorite heroines and win Dev’s heart. But if her plan fails, can she go back to her happy world of fictional boys after falling for the real thing?

Bookishly Ever After

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

[I have a small disclaimer to make that although I loved reading this and getting the chance to receive an ARC my advanced e-copy was hard to read. I know I missed words and at times sentences because of the way it was structured/formatted. I am not holding that against the author nor will it be reflected in my rating on Goodreads or my review. But I felt it fair to point out that I did not get the full experience and will be buying the book and rereading it later. So if at some point I make an update to this review that is why.]

Hell yes to Bookishly Ever After for using diversity in all the right ways! I could go on and on about how much I loved that when Phoebe was describing her friends it was never made apparent what race everyone was or what sexuality they were. It wasn’t rubbed in our faces like some books that scream: “Look! I can do diversity too! This person is gay/bi/trans and this person is x race.” It just floored me how nice it was to have a diverse cast of characters that were super amazing and realistic without being glorified.

Phoebe is definitely on the opposite bookish spectrum as myself. I’m shy to a point but I don’t daydream and fantasy/romanticize book characters to the point of obsession. I also do not knit, and if I did I probably wouldn’t be obsessed about that either. But that doesn’t stop me from connecting to her almost instantly. I can remember being a junior in high school and having that super awkward phase of “What the hell are boys and how do I talk to them?” This book plays off that while using bookish references and quoting fake books that Phoebe idolizes. It was fun and refreshing and reminded me a lot of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. At some points in the story I was more interested in the fake Golden series the author had crafted. Because who doesn’t find a hot leprechaun fea sexy? But the side stories just helped pull the whole thing together. I loved being able to see Phoebe making noted based on different scenes!

Final thoughts pink purple

Overall I really enjoyed this book. It was full of very funny situations and had me hooked from the first page. The writing was very good with the exception of Phoebe’s tendencies to add “-y” at the end of things. It reminded me of younger fangirls who use chat speak IRL. Each characters personality was very unique though and I loved that. would i rec pink purple

This is a great book for fangirls who like stories that don’t take themselves too seriously. This was more of a “along for the ride” book and I loved every moment of it.

Goodreads Amazon | Authors Website

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Bookishly Ever After – Isabel Bandeira

  1. Haha I’m so glad you liked this one! (And also boo @ the e-arc copy. Way to ruin the reading experience) But other than that, I totally agree with you. The subtle way that Bandeira explores diversity is so well-done. I absolutely loved Dev (hehe bollywood star) and Phoebe’s antics. Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.