Reviews

Book Review: It’s All Your Fault by Paul Rudnick

25664996Title & Author: It’s All Your Fault by Paul Rudnick

Genre:  Young Adult – Contemporary, Humor

Release Date: January 26th 2016

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Source: Review Copy via the Publisher via Giveaway

Description: My name is Caitlin and up until forty-eight hours ago I had never:

Tasted alcohol, kissed a boy, sang in public at the top of my lungs, kidnapped anyone or—WHAT? STOLEN A CONVERTIBLE?

Now I’m in jail and I have no idea what I’m going to tell:

The police, my parents, the mayor, all of those camera crews and everyone on Twitter.

I have just noticed that:

My nose is pierced and I have—WAIT? IS THAT A TATTOO?

I blame one person for this entire insane weekend:

My famous cousin.

Who is also my former best friend.

Who I have HATED for the past four years.

Who I miss like crazy. NO I DON’T!!!!

IT’S ALL YOUR FAULT, HELLER HARRIGAN!!!!

its all your fault quote

First of all I have never laughed so hard while reading a book. Ever. I had tears in my eyes at times, and I have recommended this book to anyone willing to listen to me ramble about how great it is. This was everything I loved about YA books. Witty, ridiculous, crazy, laugh out loud funny, amazing characters, friendship, adventurous. Quick someone take the dictionary away from me because I can’t stop finding words to describe It’s All Your Fault.

Caitlin is a good girl. She grew up in a very religious family that is home schooled, wears knee socks, has little contact with pop culture and sings in a family band together in polyester sweaters. She is the biggest sweetheart and I have to commend Paul Rudnick with the way he described Caitlin’s anxiety disorder. It was one of the best portrayals I’ve ever read in a YA book. Seeing her battle with anxiety but at the same time slowly let herself loosen up was so realistic. It does not glorify mental illness nor does Caitlin magically become better at the end. Instead she comes to terms with who she is and how the anxiety will never go away but she can properly manage it. THIS IS SUPER IMPORTANT. People need to be reminded that even though they have a mental illness they are not broken nor will they ever been 100% over it but to accept it and manage it can lead to a happy life.

Heller is all things her namesake brings to mind. She grew up without restrictions, a young child star, drugs, drinking, out of control tabloid fueling exploits and Caitlin’s ex-best friend. She also deals with issues like addiction and depression. Watching the story around Heller and Caitlin slowly unfold and come back together is one of the most satisfying and hilarious emotional roller-coasters of 2016.

I also want to point out that the book series inside of this book that Paul Rudnick made up should seriously be made. It sounds amazing and right up a YA trilogy lovers alley.

Final thoughts pink purple

This was a blast to read and I am so happy I won this ARC in a giveaway so I could get my hands on it sooner. I hope Rudnick makes more YA books because his writing style is amazing.

would i rec pink purple

Yes, yes, yes 10000% over. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a serious yet funny read. This is a must buy for 2016. Although I own a paperback copy of the ARC I’m totally buying the publisher version.

Goodreads Amazon | Authors Website

2016FavoriteMustRead2016ARC2016

5 thoughts on “Book Review: It’s All Your Fault by Paul Rudnick

  1. Thanks! I by chance saw another blogger on Goodreads add it to their TBR and from there the rest is history. Trying to spread the word of this laugh out loud amazing book so others can enjoy it as well. Hope you get the chance to read it I would love to know what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.