Reviews

Book Review & Author Q&A: Blue Waters – India R Adams

28604903Title & Author: Blue Waters by India R Adams

Genre:  Young Adult- Contemporary, Romance, Thriller

Release Date: 2016

Series: A Tainted Water Novella #1

Publisher: India’s Productions

Source: Finished copy via the publisher

Description: “The blue water I sank through was angelic, quiet, peaceful…”

Whitney is a vivacious, highly spirited 17-year-old girl. Her motto, “Live life to the fullest” is derailed when the young man, who’s captured her attention, turns out to be the son of a drug tycoon- the same that provided the drugs that killed her brother. Whitney believes she simply need to heal from her first heartache, not knowing she is a part of a devious trade, one against human rights, and she has been… since the day age was born.

Blue Waters is the first Novella in a Tainted Waters, and begins a story of deception, corruption, self-discovery, and love with all that it demands you sacrifice…

“There was a beauty in dying that day…”

Beautiful Dancer, Tragic Love

I know, I know. You’re all thinking another self-published book? What can I say? My recent good streak has given me high hopes of trying the indie/lesser known scene again. This book was graciously provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are entirely my own.

First of all I want to just say I love novellas! I LOVE THEM. They are super easy to get into and less daunting when faced with a new series/author. Blue Waters was a very quick read which I paced myself mostly because I was in the middle of juggling many other books at the same time. Its quickness allowed me to fall back into the story and remember key points very easily. The writing style was very good and I loved Whit because she had such an easygoing fun-loving personality and she was sassy to boot! She was constantly surrounded by great friends and the intense bond she shared with Link was so sweet I love friends who are protective of each other.

The romance in this story was quick and all consuming. Whit and Crash acted like magnets from the moment they met. Insta-love at its best! Although I normal nag about insta-love when the characters are actively aware it is not an “adult” type love and more of a lustful teenage attraction I can easily get behind it.

Blue Waters being the first book in a new series, it’s normal for their being plot holes and questions left unanswered at the end. That being said, I definitely would have felt better getting more insight into what the heck Whit’s parents got into. Some things left me confused while others patched up questions. It is clear this series will have more to reveal but reading this at times felt like putting a puzzle together knowing you are missing a chunk of the pieces. Link and Crash seemed to know each other more than acquaintances, the Russian Mob getting involved out of the blue like they never really left, and the reason behind Whit’s parents distant/lack thereof affections to name a few. I also didn’t really understand why if the Mob knew who Whit’s father was they would leave her behind all the time and the Mob never bothered to get involved with her until Crash showed up.

That being said it is extremely refreshing to find books taking on a very dark edge but written well. There is never a lull in the story, scenes flow smoothly and the characters were all very fleshed out. You can tell India really took her time to thoroughly work on this story and for that I am thankful. Indie authors like her warm my little book nerd heart.

Q&A with India R Adams

What is a typical writing day like for you?

A typical writing day for me is WRITING! My seventeen-year old told me I am addicted to my laptop. This was her argument/defense when I told her she was addicted to her phone. I guess my typical day depends on if I’m in the editing process or being creative and writing a story. If I am on crunch time, I wake up at 3AM and work till my husband and kids have to get up. I make lunch and breakfast, see them out the door then get back to work. Then work till dinner time (it can be grueling!). If writing, the schedule is very similar except I wake at all hours of the night with inspiration (sometimes I don’t get much sleep, lol). Some of my characters tend to OWN me! Destiny, a character you will eventually meet in The Forever Series, she once woke me from a dead sleep to write a song. The lyrics were complete in 3 minutes. Crazy right?

That is crazy! Speaking of songs, if you had to pick one song to express Link, Whit, and Crash what would they be?

Excellent question, and I have excellent answers… I just can’t tell you them or I will be giving away details for the next Novella, Black Waters.  With every book I release, I am giving attention to up-and-coming artists that, in my opinion, are simply amazing.  Its hard being an indie artist, whether that be singer/songwriter or author so helping others out who know how difficult it can be is most important to me, we got to stick together and promote one-another!  Mieka Pauley is my spotlight artist in Blue Waters, her song “Devil got my secret” is a song that portrays Crash’s character and helps him express emotions he can’t easily speak.

What inspired you to write this story?

Two things inspires Tainted Water Novellas, Miss Ashley: One is my daughter, Cheyenne, who is truly a rebel without a cause and extremely klutzy (I love her to pieces). And my biggest reason is for a cause deep in my heart, Human trafficking. It’s a subject that is awful but it is real. Many young folks—and old for that matter—are not aware of the epidemic stealing young children and young adults. I won’t make this interview depressing with statistics, but if just mentioning this, causes someone a moment of research, a life could be saved or victim (who survived this tragedy) can be understood then my work has been successful and I can sleep with a sound heart.

Anything you would like to say to the readers?

Why yes I would. THANK YOU! I freaking love you all! Keep empowering your perfect imperfections! And I’d love to give a shout out to my other daughter, Dezeray. The sketch readers see in Blue and Black Waters is Link’s doodle, she drew that for me. Love you baby! She has another sketch I’ve put in the Forever Series. Yay!

Any authors you use as inspiration or look up to?

I LOVE paranormal fiction (which I’ve written in books to come) so my two favorite authors have been J.R. Ward and Kresley Cole. Throughout all my own books, I have striven to have strong dialogue and these two women are why.

What made you decide to write YA?

For years, I taught children and young teens in performing arts and loved it. Young adults are amazing! The way they think, the way they view the world… So, I guess I wanted to be a part of that world for a little while. Be apart of their rich thinking process. I wish them all the success as they take on this thing called ‘life’.

 

would i recommend this book blue

If you are looking for something new, quick, witty, and emotional here is a new series to dig into! Also, for a short time its on sale for only $0.99!

Goodreads  | Authors Website  | Amazon | Barns & Noble | Smashwords

2 thoughts on “Book Review & Author Q&A: Blue Waters – India R Adams

Comments are closed.