Reviews

Book Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462Title & Author: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Genre:  Young Adult- Fantasy, Magic, Paranormal

Release Date: September 18th 2012

Series: The Raven Cycles #1

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Source: Bought

Description: There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

the raven boys

Once again the world of magic lives on in Maggie’s work

Oh how I love Maggie Stiefvater’s works. If I could escape into the worlds she beautifully crafts I would live out my days as the happiest little book nerd. The Wolves of Mercy Falls was the series that sparked my undying love for werewolves and passionately written books. I’ve had my eyes on reading The Raven Boys for some time now but with my busy work schedule paired with an onslaught of review copies I had to push it to the back burner until I could properly find the time to enjoy this.

Like most of Maggie’s work the relationships of friends and family is a twisted complicates yet fragile thing. Blue finally meets the man she is either destined to kill or fall in love with. Unfortunately for her the man she is destined to fall in love with she is also destined will kill. I liked how instantly Blue knew Gansey surely could not be the one she falls in love with because of his personality/their first interaction together before she knew who he was.  Blue is eccentric and cautious at the same time and I loved watching her interact and become friends with the Raven boys. When one of the main plot twists took place and we find out what happened to “Czerny” I was so so so sad. You could see and feel the loss in all of them and their different ways of coping shed insight into who they really were.

I’m hesitant to say this but after this first book, although I am a diehard werewolf fan I might love this series more. Of course that is to say if the rest of them don’t bury me in an emotional coffin since Stiefvater’s work tends to do that. The Raven Cycle series is full of magic and paranormal things in this little sleepy town of Henrietta. All of it gives a very timeless quality and although The Wolves of Mercy Falls was very magical it was more heartbreak centered than mystery.

Final thoughts pink purple

To end this review I pose a question. Is it possible to love all the main characters in a book? I generally tend to latch onto one or two strong MCs but this whole cast swept me off my feet. Sure I love some more than others but there isn’t one I don’t like at all, which is quite surprising given my tendencies to hate at least one character in each book.

would i rec pink purple

I recommend all of Maggie Stiefvater’s work to anyone who loves magical, emotional, amazingly written stories. Young or old her work will touch you deep in your heart.

Goodreads Authors WebsiteAmazon 

LoveIt

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. “Is it possible to love all the main characters in a book?” YES BECAUSE IT HAPPENED TO ME TOO 😀 I read this not long ago and enjoyed it so much more than I expected to! This is the first book I’ve read by her but I do own the werewolf series. I’ve never picked them up though because I’m not that into werewolves. I’d probably try them now after reading this series though, just for her writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Her werewolf series isn’t very “werewolf-ish” if that makes any sense. Its like TRC where its modern day with just a splash of magic. Its very well done. I can’t wait to see what you think of them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.