Reviews

Book Review: A Shadowing Flame by J James Caulder

Title & Author: A Shadowing Flame by J James Caulder

Genre: Young Adult- High Fantasy

Release Date: October 18th 2015

Series: Standalone

Publisher: CreateSpace

Source: Review Copy via the Author

Description: Royalty always seems to have so many tough choices, high up in the castle, with servants to wait on them. But when several shadows seem to want the princess out of the picture, she has no choice but to leave her fate in the hands of the newcomer, whose very existence is forbidden.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

a shadowing flame collage

Fairy Tale Story Quality with Lots of Fantasy Favorites

I love fairy tale stories, I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who disliked them. When J James Caulder reached out to me to review his book I’ll admit I was hesitant. It seemed no one else had taken the time to read and review it. I’m notorious for being picky about self published books and I normally base whether or not to review them on the average rating it gets. Needless to say this was a new one for me. The blurb was very short and to the point and I figured, why not? It sounds like a fantasy sort of book. At least I had hoped it was.

What I found blew my expectations out of the water. 

The very first chapter reads like a classic fairy tale. The Princess, Rosalina was beautiful, gentle, graceful and  is connected with animals. Sounds like the makings of a adorable Disney princes. She runs off to help a injured unicorn (Admit it, that’s awesome. Did this author read my secret diary list of imaginary creatures I wish was more in books?) and meets Dillon who has the power of magic, which is forbidden in Angella. Unfortunately events happen that cause Dillon to get sent away and we are flashed forward to present time when Rosalina is now eighteen. Here’s were the real story begins.

The whole book reads like a short story in which there is hardly a dull moment or lag in action and adventure. I also really liked the addition of a story within a story as Rosalina read the Love Forgotten book. In it it was a story sort of like Sleeping Beauty but instead of sleep the princess gets kidnapped. Stories that have little tales inside them always have a special place in my hear. (See my review for Bookishly Ever After.) Of course you won’t get any spoilers out of me, but the action and suspense of James’ arrive was pretty amazing.

blue final thoughts

The use of forbidden magic and high fantasy themes gives this book a very straightforward appeal for those looking for a short standalone fantasy book. Rose was a simple character starting out but by the end I was happy to see the way she grew with the help of James. I was worried she would fall head over heels and this would be a insta love story but that was not the case. Overall I found this really interesting and a quick read. It was a nice little gem amongst the countless self published books on Amazon.

would i recommend this book blue

Yes, I enjoyed it as a standalone quick fantasy read. I know many of you judge a book by its cover so please in this case ignore the cover and trust me when I say what lays beyond is a fairy tale style story with plenty to offer.

Goodreads | Amazon 

One thought on “Book Review: A Shadowing Flame by J James Caulder

  1. Hahah super review Ashley! I like how you advise us to not mind the cover LOL Sounds like a book I’d read too 😀 I love forbidden magic and fantasy theme! -Trang

    Like

Comments are closed.