Reviews

Book Review: Black Waters by India R Adams

29553364Title & Author: Black Waters by India R Adams

Genre:  Young Adult- Contemporary, Romance, Thriller

Release Date: March 18th 2016

Series: A Tainted Water Novella #2

Publisher: India’s Productions

Source: Finished copy via the publisher

Description: Black Waters is the second novella in the Tainted Waters series. It is highly recommended that you first read Blue Waters.

The blue water Whit once loved now looked black because it was claiming her, taking her from me.

Whitney Summers is Link’s best friend. He would do anything for her, even sacrifice their friendship to protect her. Whitney believes she understands what is transpiring in her life, but so much stirs beneath the surface. As her closest friend and protector, Link faces the darkness in his own life to guard the girl he loves.
This is Link’s story…

There was no beauty in her dying that day…

black waters collage.jpg

Black Waters is the second novella in the Tainted Waters series. This one follows exclusively through Link’s eyes. Here, we are given an entirely new view point from what went on in Blue Waters. Although this is essentially a rewrite of the first book, it answers a lot of questions I was left with and even more I wasn’t aware I had. As most of you know, I’m really new to the whole rewritten from someone else’s POV train and so I was skeptical on if I really needed to follow every detail from Blue Waters. Surprisingly Link’s story at times branches off and we get new details for the story line which gave it a brand new feel. This allowed me to immerse myself once again and forget I ever really read the story before.

In Black Waters we get a better look into the mind of Link, Whitney’s best friend. It was apparent he held some feelings for Whitney in the first book but we never got a chance to really dig deep and explore that option. In Black Waters we do. It’s apparent Link would do anything for Whitney and we get to see him try his best to protect her and everything she holds dear. Since this is a directly retelling I don’t really want to get into too much detail since the only main things that change are things India left out for a reason in Blue Waters.

Final thoughts gradient

Once again I am left very impressed by India’s writing skills and thoroughly enjoyed the quick emotional ride of a well written novella. I have a feeling there is going to be a story from Crash’s POV and I absolutely can not wait to get inside his head. I know Link’s POV doesn’t really focus on him as much as Whitney but I enjoyed sneaking him into my mood board. In typical PTBN fashion you won’t get any spoilers from me but just know this series has everything a little book nerd could love. It’s a quick read, well written, hunky love interests, plenty of drama with just the right about of emotion.

Recommend gradient

Absolutely, the Tainted Water series is a great Novella series to get into. If you sign up for India’s newsletter you’ll receive a free digital copy of Blue Waters, and if you review it you’ll get a free copy of Black Waters! How cool is that? Sign up here! This newsletter is a once a month personalized letter to readers that offer giveaways, chapter sneak peaks and news on upcoming jewelry and Spotlight artist info!

Goodreads  | Authors Website  | Amazon

