Reviews

Book Review: True Born by L.E. Sterling

26114621Title & Author: True Born by L.E. Sterling

Genre: Young Adult- Dystopian, Romance, Sci-Fi

Release Date: May 3rd 2016

Series: True Born Trilogy #1

Publisher: Entangled: Teen

Source: ARC via Publisher

Description: Welcome to Dominion City.

After the great Plague descended, the world population was decimated…and their genetics damaged beyond repair.

The Lasters wait hopelessly for their genes to self-destruct. The Splicers pay for expensive treatments that might prolong their life. The plague-resistant True Borns are as mysterious as they are feared…

And then there’s Lucy Fox and her identical twin sister, Margot. After endless tests, no one wants to reveal what they are.

When Margot disappears, a desperate Lucy has no choice but to put her faith in the True Borns, led by the charismatic Nolan Storm and the beautiful but deadly Jared Price. As Lucy and the True Borns set out to rescue her sister, they stumble upon a vast conspiracy stretching from Dominion’s street preachers to shady Russian tycoons. But why target the Fox sisters?

As they say in Dominion, it’s in the blood.

Review

Well this is a big first for me. If you know me well or have been following this blog since the beginning you will know there are a few things that instantly turn me off from a book: dystopian and insta-love. So why did I read this? More importantly why did I like this? Because its unique and really well done.

Dystopian genre calls for post-apocalyptic worlds or in this case, post plague. I liked the idea of this mysterious plague that effects almost everyone. I also liked the use of evolution/mutation as a means for survival. This really gave the feeling of a X-Men meets Bioshock with a dash of The 100.

Besides the instant love the only other things I disliked was the amount of information that is constantly thrown at you and the amount of characters you need to keep up with. I seriously kept forgetting side characters names so when someone else came into the dialogue I was like “Who is this? Do I know this person? They do what?!” If this was in physical format I would have flipped back to figure out who was who but I chose to just go with it and ended up somewhat figuring it out. Lucy’s attitute toward her place in the family/society also ticked me off but I came to understand her better and watch her grow so I got over it pretty quickly.

Just about anything else I want to talk about would be full on spoilers so I’m just going to end it with this: Nolan Storm is totally awesome and don’t let the cliffhanger deter you from reading this.

Final thoughts pink purple

Overall this book was really interesting and kept me sucked in until the very end. I picked this up when I was in the middle of a reading slump and it just rebooted my love for reading all over again.

would i rec pink purple

Yes, I loved this book! If you love sci-fi/dystopian style books with lots of action then I highly recommend this book.

Goodreads | Amazon | Authors Website

                                           ARC2016MustRead2016InstaLove

One thought on “Book Review: True Born by L.E. Sterling

Comments are closed.