Reviews

Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395Title & Author:  A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult – Fantasy, Romance, New Adult

Release Date: May 3rd 2016

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children

Source: Purchased

Description: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

reviewstar

After reading this book I wanted nothing more than to jump right back in and reread it. (I told myself that if I read one or two books between rereads it would make it seem like I wasn’t as obsessed.) I’m not kidding though at 90% I wanted to just stop because I didn’t want it to end. This has to be the best book by Sara J Maas and the best high fantasy book I have read in…well, ever. It was heartbreaking, healing, emotional, passionate and downright amazing. For the short few days it took me to read this extremely long book I was unable to hold a proper conversation with anyone outside of work related topics without trying to get people to read this book.

I realize not everyone likes Maas’ work and that’s OK! Everyone has their own opinion but just be warned this review will be me gushing about how much I love it. So, if Maas is not your cup of tea I suggest you move along lest you get annoyed with my fangirling.

I’m was starting to think three books is not enough for Feyre and her grand adventures. After reading this book I was hoping and praying that Maas would release more and some short story collections, and what do you know? My prayers have been answered! I need more and the series isn’t even finished yet! I don’t ever give spoilers but I’ve tried writing this review multiple times without giving anything away and it’s near impossible. So for those of you who enjoy not having spoilers I made them only visible if you highlight them.

Ryhs is, and always has been my top pick for Feyre. He’s deliciously bad, impossibly beautiful and cares for Feyre more than anyone could ever imagine. This book takes place a mere three months after Under the Mountain. Tamlin now has his powers, Feyre is slowly coming to terms with being a faerie and Ryhsand has not come knocking once, until the unfortunate day of her wedding.  This is a blessing and a curse as we see the way Feyre is treated and her lack of emotional involvement in anything besides her own despair. This book is a powerful tool of healing and coping with PTSD as well as depression and I cannot commend Maas enough for how well she wove the personal growth and despair into this amazing story. My heart hurt on numerous occasions while reading this book.

We see new and old characters alike and I don’t think I dislikes any of them. Each character plays a vital roll in the story and I enjoyed meeting them all. We get to see more of Pyrnthian and MAN IS IT AMAZING. The details were so vivid I kept falling in love with each new part of the land and each new court visited.

This book steers very deep into the New Adult genre as things are a bit steamier than the first book so those of you that don’t particularly enjoy reading about the sexy times I warn you.

Alright, I have to wrap this review up before gushing a mouthful of Maas devotion on you all but seriously, I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes High Fantasy.

Goodreads | Amazon | Authors Website

2016FavoriteMustRead2016Hot-RomancePerfect-Together

Leave a Reply

