Reviews

Art Book Review: The Art of The Iron Giant by Ramin Zahed

Title: The Art of The Iron Giant by Ramin Zahed

Genre: Art – Art of Books

Release Date: September 20, 2016

Publisher:  Insight Editions

Source: ARC via Netgalley

*I have received a copy of this book in return for a honest and fair review*

First of all, a big Thank You to Insight Editions for allowing me to view and review The Art of The Iron Giant!  This is one of my all time favorite movies that is guaranteed to make me cry every. single. time. Seriously at the end when the Iron Giant says “Superman” you can find me curled up with a stuffy and ugly sobbing. I have watched this at least ten times with my boyfriend and it never fails to make him laugh at how much it gets me. (We rate movies on what he likes to call the Will Ashley Cry scale.) It doesn’t matter that the end shows his pieces coming back together, nothing gets me more than self sacrifice.

iron-giant
Please note I received a unfinished copy so these are pictures from Amazon as I was not sure what was included in the finished book.

Reviewing a Art Of book is a bit tricky since I can’t include all the visuals I loved so try to bare with me. We start off with a forward from Brad Bird who is the director of The Iron Giant. From there we launch into each character and the various stages of development the artists went through before choosing the final character designs shown in the movie. My favorite were obviously the Giant but I really enjoyed Dean’s art. His artsy hipster rough sketches were a delight to see and I’ll admit to cackling at the poster of Dean with

Downtown Coolsville

Population: Dean

on it. All throughout the book we get insight into why/how they chose what they did for the final film and the whole experience was just as magical as I imagined. While I was still in undergrad I focused a lot on illustration and background design and being able to see the backdrops to all my favorite scenes was a dream come true.

Honestly this is the type of book every Iron Giant fan should have on their shelf. It’s a great piece of work for one of the most highly-regarded animated movies of all time.

Goodreads | Amazon 

ig

 

3 thoughts on “Art Book Review: The Art of The Iron Giant by Ramin Zahed

Leave a Reply

