Reviews

Book Review: Weregirl by C.D. Bell

32849250

Title & Author: Weregirl by C.D. Bell

Genre: Young Adult – Paranormal, Werewolf, Fantasy, Mystery

Release Date: November 1st 2016

Series: Weregirl #1

Publisher:  Chooseco

Source: eARC via Netgalley

Description: Eager to escape her small hometown, high school junior Nessa Kurland is focused on winning a college scholarship for cross-country running. A chance encounter with a trapped wolf while out on a run leads to powerful and frightening changes, and one day, Nessa is transformed into a full werewolf. Now Nessa must navigate the challenges of high school while coming face to face with true human darkness, as she tries to make peace with her new wild nature.

I received a copy of this book in return for an honest and fair review

review1

I’m a longtime fan of just about anything to do with werewolves. It started at a pretty early age when my mother allowed me to watch horror films with her and we watched An American Werewolf in Paris. The rest as they say, is history. From there I dived head first into anything werewolf related including the amazing worlds of Patricia Briggs, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laurell K Hamilton. Those three, although the world building and style of werewolves are vastly different, are my favorite series. Naturally when I saw Weregirl available on Netgalley I jumped for joy. (I’d like to note that a lot of reviews on Goodreads right now focus on the story as well as the format. This in my opinion should never be the case with a ARC. They state at the beginning that this is a uncorrected proof so to complain about grammatical errors and common misspellings makes me want to pull my hair out. Every single book had these at the beginning. Ok, end rant.) This story is so unique and I had a near impossible time putting the book down. I started this at 9pm then read until 1am and finished the remainder the next day. I could hardly sleep with the urge to finish the book!

Nessa is a typical teenager stuck in a small town called Tether. Tether is the type of town where everyone dreams of leaving and never looking back. Unfortunately for Nessa, that’s only possible with the help of a scholarship. As a junior all she should be worrying about it her classes, SATs and working up the courage to ask Cassian, one of the hottest boys in school, on a date. But in Tether, nothing is ever what it seems and when the chance to run with a senior to help improve her time, Nessa gets a heaping dose of otherworldly. With her mother working at the local veterinarian clinic and helping the occasional Tether resident with wounded animals Nessa is sympathetic to an animal in need. Crossing paths with a trapped wolf on her run just proves that point further by her willingness to help save the feral animal. What she didn’t account for was another wolf to be watching, waiting. This one seems bigger with its pure white coat and snarling jaw, and this one has its eyes set on Nessa. After the horrific bite Nessa finds herself in the local clinic with no recollection on how she got there. From there we get the typical werewolf style transformation of rapid unexplained healing, heightened senses, large appetite and one perk Nessa truly loves, faster speed. With the help of her trusty best friend Bree, Nessa slowly figures what in the world is happening to her.

This book has multiple things going on at once. We get the first layer of typical teenage romance, high school drama such as doping accusations and the urge to fit in. Then we have the mysterious aspect with Tether’s dark history of being a dumping ground for chemicals and a “white knight” company named Privada coming in to save the town. This at times goes hand in hand with the constant worry and confusion of being a werewolf and trying to figure out why they chose her and what she needs to do. My personal favorite layer is the veru subtle light love interests. That’s right. Plural. Now I know what your thinking, ew gross love triangles, Ashley I thought you said you hated those. Well I do, but this is NOT a love triangle. The love is nonexistent in this book which leads me to believe their might be more in the books to follow? Either way I enjoyed the change of pace as the males in this book was seem more as plot devices for Nessa’s growth.Chayton, Luc and Cassian all play vital parts to Nessa’s growth in the story. I personally jumped on the ship of Chayton who is the local shaman (or medicine man as he likes to be called) and helps Nessa figure out who she is and come to terms with it. He helps her at important times and leads her back on the main path when her inner compass goes astray. He’s also Native American, smoking hot, rides a motorcycle and is twenty-two. *fans self* Need I say more? But alas I do not think anything is really going to come of it because Cassian and Luc are closer to her age. Cassian is the typical heartthrob golden boy everyone in school crushes on while Luc is on Nessa’s cross country team who is quiet, driven and more of an outsider. I feel it vital the point out the diversity given a lot of things Nessa finds out/goes through have to deal with tend to lean toward more spiritualistic than supernatural. There also seems to be a connection between Luc and Chayton but Nessa and the reader tend to overlook that tidbit. C.D. Bell does a great job in blending diverse characters with their own animosity between cultures and background of each other.

The overall story left me surprised as I tried to figure out what was going on early on in the story but man this had me on a ride. Small bits of information easily overlooked became vital later in the book and I just loved the whole mystery/thriller aspect. I won’t go in to deep since the story is well worth the read. I highly recommend this book! I’m dying to get my hands on a physical copy for my werewolf collection

One thought on “Book Review: Weregirl by C.D. Bell

Leave a Reply

