Memes

Standalone Sunday: How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by Megan over at Bookslayer Reads where each Sunday we will feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend!


How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff 161426

Description: “Every war has turning points and every person too.”

Fifteen-year-old Daisy is sent from Manhattan to England to visit her aunt and cousins she’s never met: three boys near her age, and their little sister. Her aunt goes away on business soon after Daisy arrives. The next day bombs go off as London is attacked and occupied by an unnamed enemy.

As power fails, and systems fail, the farm becomes more isolated. Despite the war, it’s a kind of Eden, with no adults in charge and no rules, a place where Daisy’s uncanny bond with her cousins grows into something rare and extraordinary. But the war is everywhere, and Daisy and her cousins must lead each other into a world that is unknown in the scariest, most elemental way.

A riveting and astonishing story.


I read this many years ago and it still sticks with me. I can even remember being in Barns & Nobel and picking it up because the cover was so unique and eye catching. When I read the synopsis I was hooked and bought it. It’s now sitting on my shelf battered from many rereads and dull with age.

Recently they made a movie adaption that although is not completely the same, I felt did a really good job on focusing on the war aspect and how they survived challenging situations. There is less focus on Daisy’s relationship with Edmond in the movie as well. Although this book is short (about 200 pages) it’s very captivating and thought provoking. I highly recommend it.

Have you read this book? I would love to discuss it with you.

4 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

Leave a Reply

