Reviews

Book Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

31931941Title & Author: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Genre: Young Adult- Contemporary

Release Date: May 30th 2017

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Source: ARC

Description: In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community, and has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea‘s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

With illustrations from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums and snippets of Wallace’s fanfiction, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

reviewstar

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

I absolutely adored this book! The style was similar to Bookishly Ever After where there is a story within this story. You get to read about Monstrous Sea in between some chapters and I just loved it. Also there was art in here! Gah- it was just amazing! The story itself took me on a rollercoaster of emotions as not everything is happy and perfect in Eliza’s life.

I want to start off by saying that I just know people are going to complain about Wallace or Eliza’s issues and how she deals with them. It’s not healthy, yes I know. But its realistic. People dealing with immense issues like anxiety and depression tend to not think “Oh I’m not taking care of myself, better get some help.” Half the time they don’t see the signs or issues. Everyone is different and everyone deals with things differently. Reading about Eliza we could see the transition of her anxiety slowly eating away at her until she falls into depression. At the end I was near tears at how little Eliza felt and how hard she struggled to just make it through the day.

Parts of this book are swoony, beautiful, and happy. Other parts are so twisted up with so much emotion and longing you can hardly see the warning signs.  There are good days and bad days to everyone’s life and I was happy to watch her through both. This was not an all encompassing romance story. This was gritty and harsh and real. Even with the parts I would rather not read about I was thankful for them the same. It made the story so much better in the end.

I highly recommend this book to everyone.

Goodreads | Amazon | Authors Website

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s