Lists · Movies

Movie Madness: Logan, Beauty and the Beast, Power Rangers, and more

I watch a lot of movies. Truthfully I tend to prefer them to shows because once its done its done. I don’t have to sit and wait for a new episode or spend 27 hours trying to watch the show entirely to know whats going on. I’ve seen a bunch of people rate movies recently and always loved the idea. So I’m giving it a try!


images

Logan

Release Date: March 3, 2017

Rating: 5/5

Ashley Cried: 2X

Ok, this movie rocked. I honestly haven’t watched all the X-Men movies or all the Wolverine movies but this one was pretty easy to follow. It made me cry twice which David says it means it was a great movie. (Generally we rate movies on whether I cry or not. I know, it’s a bit weird. Hence why I listed it above.)


onesheet

Beauty and the Beast

Release Date: March 16, 2017

Rating: 4.5/5

Very well done. I adored it and saw this with David’s mother as a girls day treat. I think I liked this more than the live action Cinderella. Maybe because there was singing? My only issue was that I didn’t particularly like the way the castle staff looked as things. Lumiere looked over the top and Mrs Potts didn’t live up to my childhood idea.


power-rangers-230688

Power Rangers

Release Date: March 24, 2017

Rating: 2.75/5

This movie is really hard to explain. It was super well done and I would definitely see a second one but it felt like it was trying too hard at times. David hated it after about 20 minutes and I was enjoying it until they played the original “Go, go, Power Rangers!” theme when they got into their mechs. Like, why even bother? It threw off the whole movie and turned it into a spoof. Also, do teenagers talk like that? Is that how they act now? It was like a bunch of old white men got together and wrote this based on what they expect teenagers to act like.


MV5BMTQyNzk2MjA2NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjEwNzk3MjE@._V1_UY1200_CR90,0,630,1200_AL_

Jupiter Ascending

Release Date: February 6, 2015

Rating: 1/5

Rented this a few months ago and it was just downright disappointing. The world building was amazing and the special effects were awesome but the story and acting just dragged the whole thing down. I’m not a Tatum fan but I feel he did well but his character was just so hokey. I mean, wolf spliced genes and wings? Really? Don’t even get me started on the whole weird reincarnated mother thing. The whole movie felt like it would be better off as a comic book series.


 Imperium

Release Date: August 19, 2016

Rating: 4.5/5

David and I bought this on a whim and it was SO GOOD. I really enjoy Daniel Radcliffe and he tends to be a instant watch actor. We really enjoyed Horns and so this was another instant hit. His character goes undercover as a Neo Nazi for the government and it was all super fascinating. Plus, it was a true story! Which makes it really scary because the really evil people in the story are the ones that looked perfectly normal.


Swiss Army Man

Release Date: July 1, 2016

Rating: 5/5

This was… so weird. So absolutely out there that I loved it. Half the time you couldn’t figure out if the main character was bat-shit crazy or if Radcliffe’s character was actually… alive. Either way it has a killer soundtrack and I laughed my bum off watching this. We bought this on DVD as soon as it came out without even looking at the reviews but I’m glad we bought it since I’m now wanting to watch it again.

2 thoughts on “Movie Madness: Logan, Beauty and the Beast, Power Rangers, and more

  1. I have yet to see Beauty and the Beast. It’s one of my childhood favorites, so I’ve actually been hesitant to watch this live action film. I can already see myself comparing it to the classic. I saw Jupiter Rising and was amazed by how bad it was. Did nobody read the script? It was terrible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man it was! Jupiter Rising was one of the worst high budget movies I have ever seen. Beauty and the Beast though was really well done. I think personally, I just didn’t like how “realistic” and over the top the house staff looked. I liked how the animated ones were simplistic in nature.

      Like

Leave a Reply

