Reviews

Book Review: My Roommate’s Girl by Julianna Keyes

35131974Title & Author: My Roommate’s Girl by Julianna Keyes

Genre: New Adult, Romance

Release Date: June 12, 2017

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Self Published

Source: ARC via Author

Description: The day a judge gave me the choice between going to prison or going to college was the day I vowed to stop stealing. Never again would I see something beautiful and beyond my means and take it, just because I wanted it. Just because I could.

When I moved in with Jerry, it was with good intentions. I needed a place to live while I got my degree, and he needed a roommate.

Then I saw Aster.

Blond and beautiful, good, pure, sweet, smart…and Jerry’s girlfriend. She was everything I never thought I could have. Except…maybe I can.

So I put a plan into action. Yeah, I’d probably go to hell, but it would be worth it. I wanted Aster. I wanted her yesterday and tomorrow and every possible way.

But you know what they say.

Be careful what you wish for…because you just might get it

reviewstar

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

The only other book by Julianna Keye’s that I have read was Undecided. Which I really enjoyed. (Like, wow I didn’t realize I could enjoy New Adult books so much-enjoyed.) This one started off rocky for me. I liked that Aiden was trying to turn his life around but I instantly disliked him for what he did between Aster and her boyfriend. It completely turned me off to his character and I began to loose interest about 25% into the book. Thankfully it was well written and I found myself just continuing it to see what happens. When we find out more about Aster’s background and begin to read from her point of view and I was hooked again. (Highlight for spoiler: she’s apart of the same program as Aiden and was in jail. She’s had a hard life and does not trust anyone.) So naturally I was yet again swept away into Julianna’s twisty, complicated romances and had to finish the book. What followed was a whole lot of steamy romance and a crap storm of complications neither could have ever seen coming. I enjoyed the character growth in both Aster and Aiden and I especially enjoyed watched Aiden again and again try to learn from his mistakes and do better.

Not my favorite but still enjoyable. My Roommate’s Girl is good for those that like well written New Adult steamy romance with a touch of bad boy/girl. Expect lots of angsty plot twists and bad decisions.

Would I buy this book? Probably not. Reading the eARC is enough for me.

Would I recommend it? Only to those that like New Adult with a lot of twists and drama.

Would I re-read it? Once is enough for me thanks. Although I still enjoyed it.

add-to-goodreads-buttonamazon-icon

Authors Website

One thought on “Book Review: My Roommate’s Girl by Julianna Keyes

Leave a Reply

